We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good idea.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Play a Pie and a Pint

A Play a Pie and a Pint
Top of Byres Road,, Glasgow G12 8QX, Scotland
+44 141 357 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A series of 50 minute lunchtime plays at the West End's Oran Mor pub, an historic converted church of architectural interest. Drink and pie included.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a good idea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have now been to a few performances , all different , but equally enjoyable in their own way . A play a pie and a pint as a format is a most enjoyable way to spend an afternoon in Glasgow's west end . I would recommend it to visitors and locals like .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    58
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always a joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We are regulars here and have found it a most enlightening and enjoyable way to spend a lunchtime. The plays are of a wide variety showcasing the talents of both established and new writers. The format has been so successful that it is now travelling on to Edinburgh and Aberdeen. I would also highly recommend both the Christmas and summer pantos which are performed by the hugely talented 'house team.' The wine and the pie are pretty tasty too!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oran Mor Pie, Play & a Pint a Hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

So glad we took in a Pie, Play & a Pint at Oran Mor pub in Glasgow. Suspect this will be one of the highlights of our week long visit to this fascinating city from Canada. Perhaps the experience would differ depending on the play being staged, but Fanny Cha Cha, today's offering, gave viewers a real sense of place, in its hour long performance. Rare for a foreigner to experience such an intimate view of community.

Play was well written and staged - easily equivalent to productions in a more conventional setting. If you take in only one attraction/performance in Glasgow, make it this one.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went there for the christmas panto which was the uglies!
It was great. Fantastic atmosphere and a really great panto.
This was my second play a pie and a pint and I will be going back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is such a wonderful offering. For about a tenner you can watch original plays and enjoy a wee glass of vino, as well as a rather tasty pie. 10/10

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Play a Pie and a Pint also viewed

 

Been to A Play a Pie and a Pint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Play a Pie and a Pint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.