We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT VENUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Play a Pie and a Pint

A Play a Pie and a Pint
Top of Byres Road,, Glasgow G12 8QX, Scotland
+44 141 357 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 133 Activities in Glasgow
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A series of 50 minute lunchtime plays at the West End's Oran Mor pub, an historic converted church of architectural interest. Drink and pie included.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT VENUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This venue is a one off. Always hosting excellent entertainment. A must to visit. Great seating, good bar and a wonderful lunchtime experience

Great value

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    58
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent place and show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really enjoyed visiting Oran Mor, inside is very modern and cosy. A Play a pie and a pint was a great way to spend a few hours, we went a sat afternoon with my boyfriend, who had never seen a play and didn't know what to expect, but he really enjoyed it, and so did I. its a great idea to have some drinks and snacks while your watching, and not something you can get to do at most places.

The play itself was very enjoyable although I would say to get there early as it was full when we went down at 1pm and had pretty poor seats for viewing but we coped, so I would head in from 12pm to ensure you get a good view. We were actually up stair from 12 and made the mistake of eating up there too long. Food was gorgeous.

The host was extremely welcoming at the beginning and made you want to go back, lots of famous faces have performed and been here. highly recommend visiting, especially if you are into the arts

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic pie and play.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

What a great way to spend an hour. The venue at Oran mor is eclectic from first to last. The staff very welcoming and friendly. Downstairs, the pie was excellent and the wine perfectly suitable for the pie. The play was fantastic, ken and Margaret at the end of the world. So funny, so poignant and brilliantly acted. 5/5.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“As you like it!! Funny, Meaty, and refreshing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to one of the Xmas shows with a group from a nearby radio station.Had a great time.
What's not to like.
Great show, excellent pie and a decent glass of red!!! Go on you know you want to!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recommended when in Glasgow! Play pie pint gives you the feeling of being a local. The food is decent, the drinks good and the play itself pretty much inaudible but the overall experience is really worth it! If you're with a large group, buy tickets in advance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Play a Pie and a Pint also viewed

 

Been to A Play a Pie and a Pint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Play a Pie and a Pint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.