We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best little cafe's in city centre....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Wander

Cafe Wander
The Basement | 110a West George St, Glasgow G2 1QJ, Scotland
0141 353 3968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,720 restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best little cafe's in city centre....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I visit the cafe on my lunch hour alot, the soups are so fresh and tasty however the real appeal is the home made cakes!!! Just yummy! Also the staff are very friendly! A must visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    37
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Take the steps off the madness to the calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I came across Cafe Wander a couple of years ago while working in the City Centre. It is a really calm little oasis opposite Wagamama and is great for breakfast and lunch. I have to say that there is a great buzz and the staff are amazing. Nothing is a problem and I think it offers great value for money.

If you want to take a step back form the madness of shopping on Buchanan Street, it really is only 2 minutes away. My favourite here is the lentil soup........

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great way to soothe a hangover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We literally wandered into Wander Cafe while looking for a brunch venue on the day after boxing day. The lentil soup and tuna cheese panini combo really hit the spot after a beer or two too many the night before. Definitely a cut above all the chain coffee shops in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A joy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

I'm lucky enough to work round the corner from the Cafe Wander and love going in for breakfast or lunch. The welcome is genuinely friendly (non of your fake Starbies training manual friendliness here!) the atmosphere relaxing and the food good and well priced - do try it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A perfect escape from the chain establishments!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was very so happy to find a little friendly place with a unique identity among the cookie cutter restaurants of the area. The server was friendly and clearly new all the regulars. They were gracious enough to make me a full scottish breakfast without meat upon request. The huge mug of tea was equally glorious on that first jetlagged day. It's a great place to write a few postcards and plan your next adventure.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wander also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Wander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Wander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.