We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Glasgow City Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #46 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

As a fairly regular guest at this hotel i'm always amazed how nice the hotel is and how friendly and professional the staff are. I stayed overnight on 11 August and after a fairly stressful day I arrived at reception and although I had arrived just after a large group of students I was booked in very quickly which was very much appreciated. One question. Is Eliza always on duty at this hotel, she seems to be permanent but most welcome fixture in the hotel with her charming and friendly manner. The room, as usual was spotless and my wife and I had a very comfortable nights stay. A budget hotel with 5 star service once again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to add your review on the hotel, you are always very welcome. All the team work five shifts over seven days so you will see the same faces.

I look forward to welcoming you and your wife again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    434
    197
    50
    38
See reviews for
92
354
116
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Used the hotel for a one night stop in Glasgow. First time we have used an Ibis hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this budget hotel.

Check in was fast and efficient, by pleasant staff,who offered a choice of twin or double room.
Room was reasonable size, clean and comfortable, with a large double bed. Bathroom "pod" was small but adequate, with a great shower in a large shower cabinet.

The hotel is located a 15 minute stroll from the City Centre and only 2 minutes from Sauchiehall St. where there is range of eateries to suit all budgets.

All in all, a good experience and good value for the price paid. Would happily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to use Ibis hotels again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here again on 31 July for one night only. Booked two rooms they were both nice and clean, comfy beds, quick check in/out.

Great value for £40. Nice and close to the city centre. Parked the car at the NCP round the corner for only £7 too!

Would definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

So I booked this hotel to have a night with my lover. Thought it seemed cheap, clean and ideal.

Anyway he got caught up at work in Edinburgh and didn't arrive in Glasgow till 3am. Annoying, but figured we had no plans the next day so could have a few glasses of wine then have a lie in the next morning.

Well when he arrived at the hotel, well dressed and sober (he was driving) The front door was locked, which was odd for a large city centre hotel. He then had to ring the doorbell and give my room number and name. Which was stressful for him as he is not openly gay.

After this the manager continued to interrogate him refused to let him in because 'guests are not allowed after midnight'

How ridiculous. He had to drive all the way back to Edinburgh, what a waste of time.

From the etap, to the Hilton I have never experienced anything like this.

If you need discretion of any kind, don't use this place! lol

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for adding your review of our hotel, I am sorry you felt we were intrusive but we do take very seriously the security of the hotel and the guests within.

We do lock the doors after 11pm and we do ask for the identity of guests before we allow them entry. This is not only for the safety of the staff but to ensure that only registered guests of the hotel are in the hotel.

We do not discriminate against or judge any of our guests so long as they are able to identify the room they are sleeping in and the name it is registered under.

If I can be of further assistance then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherton, Manchester
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights during the week on business.
Booked via late rooms 40.00 per night plus 7.50 breakfast.
When i checked in , the breakfast was on offer at 5.00 and the receptionist immediatley refunded the difference. I found the staff all week to be helpful and proffesional.
I was put on the 6th floor at the end of the corridor where the receptionist said it would be nice and peaceful. It was.
This is a no frills hotel, ok for a week at work but somewhere i wouldnt take the wife etc for a get away.
Saying the the rooms are basic , but spotless. The POD bathroom was big enough and well appointed . No bath , but a big shower cubilcle with a power shower.
Location is OK with shops and bars and restuarants within 2 minutes walk.
Parking - no car park but metered parking outside free from 6pm - 8am if you can wrk around that, parking wardens still around at 5.30 pm , so beware !
Breakfast , basic selection of cooked and cereal , hits the spot , but you are paying a fiver, and it reflects that.
There is evening meals, basic pub style selection, microwave type of stuff, but at pub prices.
I found it served my needs whilst working , with no complaints, but i wouldnt use the IBIS for a get away or weekend break.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad we were able to look after you whilst away from home working.

We are continually improving so really value your comments.

I hope we get to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Welly augmented by excellent staff. Bar runs a bit short of stock
and should be fixed. Nice breakfast, menu for later in the day is minimal but what there is tastes good. Overall ecommened for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your reviwe, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we can see you again soon.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Glasgow City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.