We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goan ...give it a go!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Chilli Cafe

Green Chilli Cafe
1293 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8TL, Scotland
+44 141 337 6378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $11 - $47
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Goan ...give it a go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

Popped in for lunch at the last minute and wasn't disappointed . Haggis pakora crisp and fresh , popadums with onions very tasty. Tapas venison curry was a delight as were the others sampled which were all of ample portion size. Service was excellent , quick and efficient and not overbearing. On the whole very good indeed and I look forward to returning , might take my Grandpa and my Nan who does like a good curry strangely enough.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    89
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponthir
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back in the area after 7 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

I used to live around the corner but my Wife had never been to Glasgow so I decided to show her around the West End.

We were treated to a sublime meal. It was difficult to decide what to have from the Menu. The Tapas will be sampled on our next visit!

My Wife was very impressed with the Goan Fish Curry and the service was impeccable.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

First time visiting the Green Chilli and we will definitely return! The staff and service were great and the food a taste sensation. The tapas selection was good - from memory around 8 meat options, some fish options and 10+ veg options. My favourite was Bombay Aloo - nice level of spice and good decent potatoes making the dish my favourite. We still had food left at the end of the meal and the staff parcelled it up for home!

PROS
Good location
Great menu
Good vegetarian options
Cosy informal atmosphere
Good attentive service
Takeaway option available

CONS
Make sure you book in advance it gets busy
It can be a bit neat for those who are taller! I'm wee so it suited me fine!

TOP TIP - make sure you try the veg options

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW via mobile

I've lost count of the amount of times I have been to Green Chilli Cafe and never have I been disappointed. The quality of food is always outstanding and served in a friendly manner. My partner and I visited earlier today and took advantage of the 3 tapas for 9.95 offer which was fantastic value for money and offers great variety.
As always, we will be back!
Thank you!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent - all round-This our third time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Great service and great food. I cannot say much more.
A must visit place.
This is our third time in the space of two months and that speaks for itself!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Chilli Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Green Chilli Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Chilli Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.