We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in a beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White House Apartments to your Saves list
The White House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 - 13 Cleveden Crescent, Glasgow G12 0PB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay in a beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here with extended family in 2 apartments, one the mews cottage and one the flat at the top, flat 9.

The accommodation was bright, spacious, and perfect for a large family gathering. The staff onsite were very nice and friendly and helpful - we left a child's blanket which they sent back to us no problem.

We enjoyed our stay here very much in a posh part of beautiful Glasgow and had a wonderful relaxing time. I am certain we will be back and I would recommend these apartments to anyone as a great base for exploring Glasgow. It is in a quiet part of Glasgow but within10 minutes walk of the fab West End where we ate and drank happily.

The area is so lovely, listed buildings in an exquisite crescent, and it was a pleasure. I was sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Flat 9 was lovely - top of building, private, large, spacious and lovely views over city and nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    4
    9
    9
See reviews for
23
42
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed here for nearly 3 months. My apartment (No. 22) is probably the best. No. 23 is to be avoided. The staff are absolutely excellent, hard-working, kind & nothing seems too much trouble. The beds are very comfy, the facilities excellent. Parking is right outside, Cleaning is expertly done weekly, there is Internet access (a special router was provided) & good laundry facilities. Really you need a car to get to the Byres Road shops & city centre, although there are buses within a short walk. A welcome pack of tea & coffee is provided by the kettle & there are flat panel TVs in all the bedrooms & sitting-room. I could not have been looked after better.
I would suggest improving the sofa & chairs in No 23; they're the only downside of a really nice apartment.

Room Tip: No 22 is really not up to standard; to be avoided. 23 is superb. I believe all the rooms are pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We arrived on Saturday evening, and as my friend said on the previous review were impressed by the foyer. This is where it ended it! We were led outside to our apartment; we were all quite shocked as the apartment looked not one bit like the website; dirty carpets, musty smell, out of date, grubby walls. It is more 2*, like a student flat! We asked to see other apartments but they had nothing suitable for the 3 of us. Therefore, we were left with no option but to stay. Considering we paid£130 it is not worth it. My friend asked for a refund which was refused. We want our money back, not offered another apartment. It is difficult for us all to get together as we have children, so really this but a dampener to the weekend....

Room Tip: Dont stay as really its not worth the money and is grubby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
This is the second bad review from the same party, please see me response to cleocatlargs.

I have dealt directly with the original booker and have offered a complimentary night.

We welcome positive and negative feedback and sights like Trip Advisor are great for potential guests to get a feel for our apartments. However I feel that both previous reviews certainly do not give a true reflection of our establishment.

Anna Le Marquand
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

arrived full of excitement and impressed by foyer of building but we were taken to old servants quarter not at all like internet photos and were shocked at old granny flat apart from some updated prints nothing has been updated dirty walls and stained carpet we did complain to the very nice caretaker but he could nothing and could not change for alternative that was suitable and not worth 130 and not 4 star i was told we would be able to change if not suitable after deciding to make do we returned after dinner not that late and received a call from flat upsatirs and told to be quiet as lady was trying to sleep i think the flat above is rented out long term we were chatting no music. no hot water either for a bath unless heating is on that is controlled centrally wont be back partial refund refused as well bizarre set up

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Madam, Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor and your comments card that you left with our caretaker.
I was disappointed to read your comments and have taken them on board I have arranged for some general maintenance to be carried out in the apartment.
It is very important to us that all our apartments are kept to high standard and I personally inspect all our apartments regularly to adhere to our 3-4 star ratings and I think this is demonstrated in all our previous reviews. We have an ongoing maintenance regime and within this all carpets are regularly cleaned. There should have been no problems with your hot water however our caretakers are here to help with any issues our guests may have.
I know that upon your booking you used Trip Advisors reviews and pictures to select our accommodation, this is the apartment you requested when booking from the photos seen on Trip Advisor.
Today I spoke with you on the telephone with regards to these matters and I hope that you take up my offer of a complimentary night for you and your friends and hopefully re-establish your confidence in our apartments.

Kind Regards

Anna Le Marquand
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Booked here as Glasgow hotels were booked out. Thought we were staying at Clevedon place but glad I phoned as the Executive apartment was actually two miles away.

The Apartment had private parking a great living area two bedrooms but is a long walk or a drive from any good restaurants or pubs.

We were working so the big living room was a good space for us. For the price it would have been a nice touch to have some coffee, team and milk there on arrival. Just a small starter pack would do. The big let down was that there were no towels which we discovered in the morning as we about to shower to get ready for a big meeting. No shops open near by and when we finally got through to the central Whitehouse team they at first asked us if we were sure there were no towels and then did bring someover. However, since then we have had no contact with an apology!

It is right by a train station into Glasgow so easy to get into the City. All in an a place to bed down for the night but spoiled by 'Towelgate'...............

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Assistant Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Sir,

Firstly thanks for leaving feedback on Trip Advisor we appreciate feedback good & bad.

I personally emailed you on 3rd October regarding the problems you had at our property at Randolph Gate. From your booking it did state you were booked into Randolph Gate and have spoken to booking.com regarding this.
I apologised for the housekeepers not leaving a welcome pack and the towels as this was not acceptable and not of our usual standard.
As intimated in my email to you i hope i have not deterred you from using us again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Whitehouse Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Booked last minute via 'late rooms'. What a find, this will be where we stay in Glasgow from now on. We stayed in Apartment 21, top of 3 flights of stairs, opened the door to a HUGE one bedroom apartment. Beautiful large bathroom, separate kitchen, lovely comfortable bedroom with walk in wardrobe, wifi, DVD, CD, great TV....absolutely nothing to criticise. If you really pushed me - a couple of pillows for the sofa, and the bedroom skylight lets lots of light in if you like a dark room in the morning! How good id that that thats all I can think of. It is out from the city centre a mile or so, but near the Kelvingrove Museum, and Botanic Gardens (beautiful). and so so quiet. Free on street parking. Five stars deserved from me. We'll be back plenty!

Room Tip: Only saw ours No 21, but it meant no one above you and a great view from the window, its a very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Assistant Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you very much for leaving feedback on your recent stay.

We very much value feedback both good & bad in order to keep up our standards.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Whitehouse Apartments in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

we stayed there on thurs night for nthe take that concert, it was in a lovely area at the west end of the city, We had arrived to early so went for a stroll around the botanic gardens which was fab i could have stayed there all day !
We had lunch on great western road then went to our apartments. We had a cracking little mews to stay in with our own front door into the courtyard, livingroom area was lovely , clean , bright and pretty spacious. The bedroom was cosy with nice en-suite and good little kitchen.
The staff were brilliant really really nice, typical glasgow hospitality ! no matter how many staff passed us outside they all stood and spoke to us .
Even this morning when checking out they were chatting away. For £85 its was definately a bargain. Will stay there again when coming back to glasgow.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteHouseApts, Assistant Manager at The White House Apartments, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay with us at the Whitehouse Apartments.
I`m glad you had a lovely time staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Whitehouse Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Apartments

Address: 11 - 13 Cleveden Crescent, Glasgow G12 0PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a classic Victorian Crescent in Glasgow’s fashionable West End, the long established White House Apartments are superbly located for long or short-term stays in the city. A warm & friendly Scottish welcome will make you feel at home. With competitive rates and only ten minutes from Glasgow City Centre with free on street parking. Each unique and charming apartment, with fully equipped kitchen and bathroom, has been tastefully furnished with your home comforts and requirements in mind. Available in a variety of styles, from Single Studios to Mews Cottages to Three Bedroom Apartments, we specialise in exclusive, yet affordable, quality self catering accommodation. Our properties have been independently graded by Visit Scotland and we guarantee a clean, fresh and relaxing environment with friendly staff on hand at all times to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We have 32 apartments located in Cleveden Crescent and various other accommodation in Glasgow located throughout the West End. Our portfolio also has various rental opportunities for 6 months or more. We look forward to welcoming you to share the unique experience of The White House Apartments for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Apartments Hotel Glasgow
The White House Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.