We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, good value for money and well located (if a little tired looking).” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Victorian House to your Saves list
Victorian House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Renfrew St., Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious, good value for money and well located (if a little tired looking).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having read some recent negative reviews I was very concerned having already booked this hotel for my dad's 60th. Everything was fine though: the staff were pleasant and a little quirky, the room was large and clean (with brand new beds and mattresses I think) and the breakfast was decent. Parking was no problem and we were within walking distance of anywhere you'd want to go. Overall, I think It offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    137
    107
    41
    58
See reviews for
57
100
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

stayed here 6/04/13 for one night for a girls night away , i have sent 2 emails to the manager regarding our room (56) i have still not recieved a reply which just lhe looked like it had just been opend up and not cleaned properly, the windows didnt open/ close properly and ,many more complaints , the breakfast was basic and NOT wht was advertised and most of the staff were not so helpfull ( sharon and the nite porter were superb!) i really am stuck for words to describe this hotel ! be worned the pictures on the website and the actual hotel and not the same, , i am going to be taken this hotel owner/ manager to heath and saftey,it is not worth £60 for a twin room or a 3 star hotel !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dawn


I am sorry you experienced a bad time during your stay.

Your room has been re-assessed and renovated now. All matters have been dealt with apart from the carpet. This will be changed in due course.

Your demands for a refund after your stay were unacceptable. If you had checked out upon seeing all the items you have photographed, we would have happily given a full refund. Asking for a refund after you depart is not acceptable.

Also, smoking in our rooms is not acceptable. Our night porter informed me about this.

All our rooms are non-smoking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

(Room 39) Really big room, clean and nice. Nice big tv, good to be able to watch tv in bed without specs. Coffee table useable. but pretty beat

Drinking glass in room had someone else's lip marks on it. This is hospitality 101 guys you really need to put the room stuff thru the dishwasher, you can't just wipe it with a dirty bath towel that's gross.

Some of the staff really really nice and helpful, special thanks to the lady who helped us up he steps... And the really friendly night porter cyclist. Some of the others were pretty grumpy however.

Breakfast... Oh where to start. Well, help yourself juice/coffee/toast, very good and efficient. Then it's down hill I'm afraid, cold croissants.... Bacon soaking in grease... sausages cooked without turning so they're burned one side and not cooked the other. ... Fried eggs , must have been cooked an hour prior then hardened under the lights.... And most worryingly, black pudding, cooked and served still in its plastic packaging, so all the chemicals from the plastic melt into the food. Surely a proper chef wouldn't make this errors. And the breakfast server guy... What a grumpy sod, a smile wouldn't hurt once in a while you know.

Would I stay there again? Good question. Yes I probably would if they sort out the breakfast issues, otherwise I'd choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked the room for two nights but decided to check out the next morning, because the toilet seat was cracked and the bath was clogged. So we practically couldn't shower for our stay there.
Room and the bathroom were spacious which was amazing, but the broken bath and cracked toilet seat were the biggest let down.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute option when attending an event at the Kings Theatre, the website was easy to use and book, the price was very reasonable and the hotel was in a great location to walk to the theatre.

On street parking was available when we arrived, check in was very fast and efficient. The room was large, clean and equipped with everything required. The bathroom was a little tired but everything was clean and worked. The breakfast was included in the price and provided a choice of hot and cold items served in the conservatory which was very pleasant.

The hotel was exactly what we needed for a single overnight in Glasgow, I'd recommend to others and we would book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this hotel to enable us to attend a family funeral. Other relatives followed suit. Room was comfortable,clean and warm. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We had arrived in Glasgow by train so had no need of parking. Accessibility by car is difficult and there is a steep approach for pedestrians and stairs up to the entrance and no lift within the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would have no difficulty recommending this hotel for people on a budget who are relatively fit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

when checking in to the hotel we where shown a modern room but it was not ready and thay had no staff to make the room up.the sceond room was old and had 4 single beds in it and there was only me and my wife. the 3rd room was very old and dated the bed sheets had holes in it and the mattres was very hard at £47 for a nights stay i would expect more.breakfast was filling but cold. sorry to say i will not be going back to this hotel the only good point is the location. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Address: 212 Renfrew St., Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian House 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Glasgow
Victorian Hotel Glasgow
House Victorian
Victorian House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.