We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most disgusting place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian House

Save Saved
You added Victorian House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Victorian House
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Renfrew St., Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Sosnowiec, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the most disgusting place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had to stay in this place for one night. I've never seen before such a dirty place like this one. Bathroom was just disgusting, bed linen wasn't fresh, floor was sticky and dirty. In a wardrobe on the floor was really old pancake!!! there was some change on the floor so I believe this room which I had wasn't clean for ages!!! In the corridor was some old divan bed, don't know why and there was no floor covering on the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Mr Lipinska

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is currently going through renovation which is the reason there was an old bed divan outside your room. The carpet on the stairs leading to your room is awaiting renewal also. This will be complete in the coming days.

I have looked into the matter about the pancake and can confirm this was overlooked by our chamber maid on the morning your room was being serviced. I apologise sincerely for this error.

All bedsheets are laundered in house and we take great care to ensure that these are in prestine condition for all guests staying at the establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    130
    91
    34
    54
See reviews for
48
75
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ok, this is a budget hotel but don’t be put off by some dodgy reviews on this site – as always, you get what you pay for, so my review is based on the hotel standard against value for money and on those criteria, the Victorian House scores very well in my book. I stayed here on two separate nights whilst on a 5 day round-Scotland trip and found it to be perfectly clean, warm and comfortable. I requested a room on a high floor and that’s exactly what I got – top floor at the rear which was nice and quiet and though I was travelling alone, was given an en-suite double room for no extra charge. However, the steep stairs could be a problem for anyone old or disabled as there’s no lift and it’s also worth noting that the hotel is located up a steep hill one street back from Sauchiehall Street (one of the main shopping streets in Glasgow), where there are numerous bars and eateries. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and of a reasonable standard, though you did have to queue up for the cooked selection. Overall, I would recommend the Victorian House to anyone looking for a decent standard, centrally located hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor if you prefer it quiet, but beware of the steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Manager at Victorian House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We would not normally have chosen the Victorian house hotel but after we were let down with our original booking (cancelled with no notification) we had no time to waste and just took the first hotel in the area that had availability. We took the last room and were tucked away at the top of the hotel in a twin bedroom. Hotel is looking tired and on the first appearance we did not warm to it but I cannot fault the staff who were very helpful and the general cleanliness and comfort of our room. Breakfast was also sound and whilst it is unlikely we will return, for the price and the location (if you are looking for close to Sauchiehall Street) you could do a lot worse.

Thank you for saving our weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel steps a bit of a problem thats the only problem we had to moved hotels at short notice had family staying here so phoned to see if there was any rooms with luck there was as we had a funeral to attend that day we where allowed to check in at 10 .30 am the staff were all lovely would use this hotel again and would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Manager at Victorian House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for the review of our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Unfortunately you probably won't feel safe parking your car here at night - the nearest car park is a ten minute walk away and the walk up to the hotel is exhausting with luggage. The hotel standards are acceptable for the money and staff are friendly and helpful, The hotel is close to the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montello, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked our room there for our last night in the UK. It listed as a short trip to the airport. When we got there, we had to park a block away. As we walked up to the place, we saw broken automobile glass on the street and sidewalk indicating cars had been broken into and recently. We got up to the build and had a multi flight walk up to get in. Upon entering the lobby looked like a flop house. We asked about a car park and were told there was none and the street parking cost money. Even though we pre-paid for the room, we left without checking in and found something closer to the airport in a safer neighbour hood!

Room Tip: Find a place someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Manager at Victorian House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Our hotel is located very central in the City Centre and is in an extremely safe city area next to one of Glasgow's great landmarks, Glasgow School of Art. All streets are patrolled day and night by Safer Glasgow Officers to ensure the safety of all. Car break-ins are extremely rare but can occur as they may in any other city.

I have investigated your case and found that you did not mention any of this upon check-in. You clearly stated to our reception staff that you preferred a hotel near airport to enable an early flight the next morning.

I understand your frustration at having pre-paid but be assured that if you had booked with the hotel directly, rather than through a booking agency, we would have been willing to refund. As you did not do this, the T&C stood with your booking agency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, right off the high street but still quiet. Room was spacious and clean, with lovely comfy beds (especially the pillows!) Decent buffet breakfast too. I would only say don't book if you're weak of leg, lots of stairs and a hill to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Manager at Victorian House, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Address: 212 Renfrew St., Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Glasgow
Victorian Hotel Glasgow
House Victorian
Victorian House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.