We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip-top service and views - and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow) (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 25% off
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tip-top service and views - and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Reading the previous reviews prompted me to choose the City Inn as my base for an Easter break. I was delighted with my choice: not only was the location overlooking the Clyde attractive, but the service was very good and welcoming throughout. The room rate was extremely good value, even after paying for the most expensive breakfast options. The quality of the breakfasts was a further commendation. Also praiseworthy was the free internet access - a very user-friendly Mac system in each room. All told, perhaps the best hotel I have stayed at in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    641
    179
    62
    14
See reviews for
138
697
95
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night only, we were going to see a show at the SECC that night so we decided here was a great location for it and it was cheap! The SECC was about a 2 min walk away which was excellent! The staff at the front desk were very friendly when we were checking in..we had a room facing on to the clyde..lovely at night. Rooms were lovely and very clean. No noise at all. Definetly reccommend it for the SECC it's a great location. There is also a chinese/japanese resturant and a beautiful indian restuarant where we ate called "india quay" food was lovely here..both 2 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed here with my daughter for the Scottish Wedding Show. Great location to the SECC and the city as well. Rooms comfortable, food reasonable as was the staff. Unfortunately very noisy when we stayed here. Complained to the reception desk twice, but 03.00 in the morning music was loud blast!! As I said I complained twice and was told they would be in touch when I gotr home,which they did give them their due. I was told they would send something through the post to make my next stay better, after phoning back to query this, I am still waiting to hear from them it has been a month now. So much for customer relations.................

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

best value hotel for SECC, very well equiped and comfortable rooms. great for riverside drinks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

My son is at college in Glasgow and we travel up regularly to visit him. We found the City Inn last summer when we ate on the lovely terrace that overlooks the river and were impressed with its location. We usually stay in the city centre but as we were driving to Glasgow on this occasion we decided to stay at the City Inn having seen the impressive comments on this site.
The location is still amazing and the parking a real bonus. However I was less than impressed with the rooms. The throw on the bed and the cushions were stained. The bed itself was sinking into the middle which made sleeping hard work! In addition the kettle was grubby.
I did tell the duty manager who said he would raise my comments with the housekeeper.
Having said that I would be prepared to give the hotel a second chance. It may be that we were just unlucky and it was good value for money in all other respects.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

we were going to book a hotel a little closer to the city centre , but i am so glad we never , city centre was close enough about 5 pounds in a taxi.
about 2 weeks before we arrived i phoned the hotel and requested a clyde view room and on arrival was pleased to hear we got it, check in was very quick and the staff were very friendly , room was small but perfectly formed - included a mini bar, safe, bathrobes, computer facilities were excellent and best of all we could smoke in the room. we are thinking about going back asap!! loved it

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I picked this hotel after reading the positive reviews on trip advisor.

This hotel is rated 4 stars and in my opinion this is justified. I was impressed by the professional staff - we were given a room with a view upon asking, no problems. And the restaurant manager seemed keen to make sure we were enjoying our food.

I booked the hotel for £140 for two nights - this also included breakfast and a 3 course meal on the first night for two. It also included a glass of champagne and some small canopies. This was via the hotel website and was a winter warmer deal. The food was lovely on the first night, although I did have a steak sandwich which I bought n the second night which was a bit chewy.

The hotel is slightly out of the way but not massively - a taxi will cost you about £7 to the centre. Anyway you get a nice view of the river.

The room was great, with state of the art tv / dvd / wifi. Bathroom lovely with great power shower and bathrobes.

Didnt try the gym - perhaps the only thing missing is a swimming pool but then again we spent the weekend sight seeing so it wasn't much of a loss to us.

Would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.