We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointed with the food in the resturant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow) (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“really disappointed with the food in the resturant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

this is our second time at this hotel. first time was last year. and we did not eat at the hotel we ate in yen across the street. wish we had done that this time. booking in was fine. the room was lovely. and the bed really comfy. and a really nice view of the clyde. we decided to give the restaurant a go. when we arrived the girl gave us a table in the middle of the floor. when I asked to be moved I got a dirty look. my husband had soup which he enjoyed but is still waiting for the bread he asked for.my starter was haggis and this was nice. my main course was pork. in my life I have never seen a plate like it it was suppose to be a platter of pork. it was three wee bits off different pork one was burnt one was the size of an oxo cube. and the other one was just fat.it had three half potatoes with it. I never ate it. when the girl came to get my plate she never even asked what was wrong.my advice to anyone staying at this hotel don't eat in the restaurant. eat in yen across street.the hotel is lovely and would stay again as it it very handy for venues.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear daniel28703

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in City Café.

The pork dish you have mentioned is not described on the menu as a platter, it is a trio of pork with braised cheek, confit belly and roast fillet. You should have been asked if you enjoyed your meal and I apologise this did not happen.

The majority of reviews compliment the staff and quality of food and it I would be grateful if you reconsider and try the restaurant again next time you stay.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    581
    161
    48
    12
See reviews for
121
623
84
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night with my fiancé & we had a lovely night! From checking in to checking out we had a fantastic experience. The room was very clean & well equipped. I especially liked the fridge in the room with the option to buy any required essentials from their Pantry like water, snacks or filled rolls to have at your leisure-I thought this was a great idea, almost a mini bar you control! We stayed in the hotel for dinner & so glad we did! We both had haggis to start, followed by steak for my fiancé & red bell pepper for me with cous cous finished off with their beautiful cheesecake!! Lorna was our main server at dinner & what a lovely, pleasant girl, she looked after us so well & nothing was too much trouble which created a lovely relaxed experience to go with the great food! At breakfast this morning Louise was our server & again, what a lovely girl! When we went to breakfast at 10am it was very busy but Louise must be commended for the way she looked after everyone & dealt with what could've been a challenging situation! The breakfast again was lovely, a great selection & all very fresh with a "make your own" waffle machine which was fab! All in all this was a great experience & this will be my first choice hotel next time I'm staying in Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Allisos

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

It is always good to hear of positive feedback and Lorna and Louise are very happy to be mentioned.

The pantry in the lobby is popular with our guests and your kind comments regarding your meal in City Café are very welcome.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend as we we going to hydro to see top gear live
Bedroom was lovely . Had a brilliant sleep pillows were fantastic .
Breakfast was excellent . Fresh waffles ...yummy will definitely recommend this hotel and certainly come back .
Thank you for a good nights stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear shepherrd

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a great nights sleep.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had a great meal, lovely surroundings, a bit noisey but would definately visit again, staff was lovely and nothing was a bother, my partners soup was not as warm as he would have liked and it was changed without any bother, hope to visit again soon

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Margaret D

Thank you for your review and for stating you would definitely stay again.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport S Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for top gear live at the hydro with my teenage son.
Lovely clean twin room with great shower... Had dinner at the hotel which was very nice. Bit pricey at £20 for 2 courses but was very nice. Breakfast was great and my son loved the waffle maker. Bit of a trek into town so would probably stay more central for city visit, but this is ideal for the hydro arena.

Room Tip: If poss chose a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear cathrob

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you found our location ideal for the Hydro and enjoyed your meal.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great hotel - had everything we needed. The view over the Clyde was great. The lift worked well. Once we found the on switch for the TV everything was just perfect. Rooms are not over large but plenty adequate if you are out most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear John S

Thank you for your review.

Your kind comments and calling us a great hotel are very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We've been here on and off over the years and despite the name changes and management changes this place has still got it - mainly thanks to the food, which is so far superior to everything else in this price bracket, but the rooms still feel fresh and appealing too. So - breakfast was very good with a large hot and cold buffet and plenty of good, ripe fruit. Dinner was good and fresh, with a great selection of some complex dishes and some simpler choices, including some nice salads. The bed was comfy and the room was immaculate. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. For the rate we were on, I think around £60-70 per night, I think it's seriously good value and much, much nicer than any of the other hotels in that part of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.