We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place shame about the extras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place shame about the extras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hilton garden is ideally situated for the secc (next door)with the town a short drive away it is situated next to the clyde with pleasant views across the water to the stv and bbc centres the rooms arent massive but reasonable with the usual facilities and apple tv/computer and extra sound system with sub. comfortable bed and (in my case)views out to the river ,good efficient service at reception and restaurant meals good breakfast(buffet) good
downsides the drinks prices i think to be charged over 4gbp per small bottle of magners plus an extra 2 gbp to bring 2 bottles to the table a little excessive also i think to pay over 100 gbp for a room and then a further 6 gbp to park in their car park also excessive i think for those reasons i wouldn't stay again i dont personally pay for my stays but its a matter of principle!
nice hotel spoiled by over zealous extras

Room Tip: river view rooms are pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear philip t

Thank you for reviewing on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you found our facilities to be of a high standard and enjoyed our bar and restaurant food and service.

Our car parking charge of £5 is one of the best value prices you will find for over-night parking at any hotel of a similar standard in Glasgow and our bottled beer/cider priced at £3.95 is also in line with other hotels.

A discretionary service charge of 10% is added to all orders that are delivered to the table – all of this goes to the staff and we are happy to remove on request.

It would be great if you would re-consider and stay again as your review suggests that you were generally happy with your stay.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    559
    532
    143
    41
    11
See reviews for
112
568
79
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked a room for the night here as part of visiting Glasgow to see Motohead with a friend.

Reception were quick and courteous do deal with our check-in and were presented with key cards and details about the hotel, restaurant and bar times. They also arranged a taxi to take us to the gig.

The room was pleasant with extremely comfortable beds, a clean and bright bathroom and an imac for Tv/Internet usage. Unfortunately our room did not look over the Clyde but that did not cause any problems. Maybe next time.....

After the gig we stayed in the bar for a few hours. The bartender on that night was brilliant! He couldn't believe that we had been to see Motorhead and we struck-up a good conversation with him.

Sleep was uninterrupted apart from housekeeping coming into the room around 9.30am which was a bit of a disappointment.Other than that the room was quiet and I'd love to know where the pillows are from as they were SO comfortable.

Check-out was painless and then it was just a case of getting to the station to head home.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to stay in Glasgow for a night or two. The view along the river is spectacular with all the landmarks lit-up.

I'll be sure to go back!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a view over the river. It would make the stay that little bit more '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Paul V

Thank you for such a positive review following your recent stay.

The views over the Clyde are indeed spectacular at night.

Next time you stay I will gladly tell you where we get our pillows from!

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I can see why some reviewers say that this hotel is a bit 'out of the way'. It is, and it is definitely NOT in one of Glasgow's more celubrious areas. Nevertheless, it is perfectly situated for a stay after a gig at the awful SECC, the warm-sounding Armadillo or, in our case, the superb Ferry which is only ten minutes along the road.

All was fine except for the lack of a veggie sausage at breakfast. I mean, how hard can it be to have a packet of veggie sausages in the freezer? While the carnivore's tucked into bacon, black pudding etc we had to make do with everything except the meat, and at nearly £115 b'n'b this is not a cheap overnight stay.

Apart from this everything was ok. Even the coffee was drinkable this time around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear We_are_Ali_and_Malky

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us again.

We have vegetarian sausage and haggis available and is made to order – please accept my apologies for this not being offered to you.

Thank you for highlighting the coffee as I know from reading your previous review that this was not to your taste last time.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've stayed here before when it was the Mint and also a City Inn. Very nice hotel and perfect for SECC.

Rooms are pretty standard in terms of size with the added bonus of a Mac TV with free Internet access and also free wifi across the hotel.

We had dinner for convenience here too and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Highlandbloke

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay having stayed previously when we were a different brand.

Thank you for highlighting the complimentary Wifi that is a brand standard for the 550 Hilton Garden Inn hotels worldwide and also that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal.

Kind Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

excellent hotel in great location right by the Squinty Bridge and great views over the Clyde. Good disabled access room although on the small side but it had all the necessary bathroom adaptions. We had an excellent breakfast overlooking the Clyde which would have been lovely in good weather.
Was only staying one night b&b so didn't use all the facilities but what we used and saw were appropriate for a three star hotel.
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I travelled to Glasgow to see Michael McIntyre and stayed at the perfectly placed hilton garden, I booked 2 months in advance and got a very good price for what was meant to be a suite, we got into the hotel and thought it was very nice. Got up to our room and was wondering if a cupboard hid the rest of the room. IT WAS TINY!!! No chance on earth should this be advertised as a suite. I went to reception and queried it. She told me that all the rooms are the same and the only diference between prices were the river view or city view, we had paid £100 per night for a box with an extremely uncomfortable bed. Both days we stayed we had to call housekeeping for extra towels as they left enough for perhaps a small child! We ate there the first night and after sending both starters and main courses back we had a delicious desert. Then came the cheque, after deciding amongst themselves that the waiter who we hardly saw deserved a 10% tip we just wanted to leave! He was slow and uninterested. Except when talking to his friend who sat behind us. I think I'm being quite generous in giving the hotel a 3* review but not all of it was bad. I very much doubt we will be returning to the hotel due to prices, room quality and poor food.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visit family frequently in Glasgow and now use this as our preferred hotel. At the weekends pricing is very good, the rooms are adequate as long as you accept they don't have a bath, it is clean and with good parking. In a good weather we can sit at the riverside or go for a wander along the river banks, and a short walk or quick taxi gets you to the West End or City Centre. Access from the M8 and the Clydeside Expressway is excellent. It can get busy when there is a concert on at the SECC and can get inundated with football fans given its proximity to Ibrox but my wife is happy sitting in the bar reading a book on her own, my son is content studying in a room and the staff are top notch. Basic hotel that works very well

Room Tip: Try to get a river view- but they are all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre

Address: Finnieston Quay, Glasgow G3 8HN, Scotland (Formerly MINT Hotel Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Clyde, the new Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre (formerly MINT hotel) has undergone a £1 million refurbishment. The hotel offers 164 stylish and fully refreshed bedrooms, all featuring a spacious desk, ergonomic chair, an Apple iMac, complimentary WiFi and a mini refrigerator.The Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre features a contemporary designed lobby, a complimentary 24-hour business centre, as well as the Hilton Garden Inn 24-hour Pavilion Pantry which provides a selection of food and beverage options. The award winning City Café Bar & Grill serves contemporary, locally-sourced food from an enviable riverside location and has a fantastic reputation in the city for offering the very best in casual dining for the discerning customer. Guests can choose to dine indoors or al fresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Overlooking the River Clyde, it offers spectacular views of the nearby SECC, Armadillo, Glasgow Science Centre and the Finnieston Crane. A new hi-tec Precor gym has been introduced to the property, doubling the size of the previous facility, offering the very latest in state of the art equipment for gym users. A guest laundry has also been introduced to allow guests the convenience of freshening up during longer stays at the hotel. With ample car parking and a fantastic riverside location, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre is the perfect choice for visiting the bustling, cosmopolitan city of Glasgow with its fantastic shopping boulevards of Buchanan Street and Argyle Street. It’s also a short stroll from the city’s bohemian West End with a wealth of museums, parks, boutique stores and artisan delis as well as a diverse choice of bars and night spots.For meetings, conferences and special events, including weddings, the Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre has some of the finest space in the city. Whether its business or pleasure you are looking for, Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre can cater for your every need……and leave you wanting more.Walking distances:SECC 2 minutesCity Centre 10 minutesWest End 10 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow City Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;