We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sparrow

Black Sparrow
241 North Street | Charing Cross, Glasgow G3 7DL, Scotland
0141 221 5530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #614 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited the Black Sparrow on Tues 2nd July 2013 at about 3pm. It was very quiet but probably due to it not being lunch/dinner time. We ordered starters and a main course & had no complaints. Very nice food!

The young lady who was serving had a friendly & smiley face and was helpful & pleasant.

Decor was right up my street & I loved the choice of music. I would completely recommend for anyone to eat there whilst in Glasgow.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    12
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Despite a busy lunchtime rush, we were seated with drinks straight away by a very friendly waitress working tirelessly on her own. Lovely big burgers at 2 for 1 ensured dinner later would be a non event. A lovely place to sit to eat or drink in a great location for town and the west end. I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ordered pan-fried sea bass on a bed of 'crushed' Jersey Royal potatoes and my friend ordered a char-grilled chicken fillet. The food arrived way too quickly to have been freshly cooked and certainly had neither the taste or the appearance of freshly-prepared food. Instead of having lovely crisp skin, glistening with the oil it had supposedly just been fried in, the sea bass looked dry and flabby, as though it had been cooked earlier and reheated. The chicken was no better and could not possibly have been char-grilled in the time between placing our order and the food arriving. Why would anyone 'crush' Jersey Royal potatoes? Part of the attraction is the texture of freshly-boiled new potatoes in their skins. Seasonal greens, ordered as a side-dish were completely undercooked and lukewarm instead of hot.
In my experience, Black Sparrow is best avoided. There must be many other Glasgow restaurants that serve genuine freshly-cooked food, made from fresh ingredients. Perhaps the burgers would have been better but when they offer fish on the menu, they should be able to do better than they did. Or give up offering fish and leave the 'chef' to cook burgers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best burger in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As there is much choice in Glasgow to go for a burger it took us a while to make us a decision on where to go on Saturday night! We booked through 5pm on the 2 for 1 burger deal. So glad we decided to go to Black Sparrow! When we arrived the bar was really busy but not overcrowded like a lot of places on a Saturday evening! There was a really nice buzz about the place. We were seated at one of the leather booths in the middle of the restaurant but we still felt like we had privacy. Started off with a fabulous French martini while we looked at the varied burger menu. I had the Blue Sparrow(blue cheese, bacon, caramelised onion) and my other half had the Italian Sparrow(Parma ham and Parmesan) Served with the softest brioche bun and i opted for the cajun fries which had quite a kick to them! The burger itself was full of flavour and tender. Tried the haggis fritters as well, which is the most amazing haggis ive ever tried! Service was attentive, making sure we were ok for drinks etc and very pleasant. Cant wait to go back and try the Scottish Sparrow! Definetly the best burgers in Glasgow!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked here before going to the theatre. Nice decor- leather booths and outside terrace. Staff were friendly. We had the burgers - blue sparrow and french sparrow- both were great. Lovely burger with nice brioche bun and great chips. Blue sparrow came with cheese, bacon and caramelised onions; French with bacon and Brie. We booked on 5pm which meant we got a free glass of wine. Altogether great value for money, great staff and great food. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sparrow also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Black Sparrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sparrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.