We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tall Ship at Riverside

The Tall Ship at Riverside
150 Pointhouse Place, Glasgow G3 8RS, Scotland (Anderston)
44-141-357-3699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 127 Attractions in Glasgow
Type: Ships, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tall Ship at Riverside is one of Glasgow's most unique visitor attractions! Rated as 4 Star visit by Visit Scotland we aim to transport you back to when the SV Glenlee was an operating cargo ship. Built on the River Clyde in 1896 is one of only 5 of her kind still afloat in the world today and she is the only one in the UK. Climb aboard for this rare opportunity to explore every nook and cranny of the ship including the Captain's Cabin, Children's Play Area, Engine Room and the Cargo Hold Cinema. Take a tour of the ship using our Audio Guide facility and enjoy a coffee while you browse for souvenirs.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A really interesting attraction. Couldn't recommend a visit highly enough. Full of history about the ship and information and displays regarding what life was like aboard, while the ship was in service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    73
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Free entry. Educational with lots of displays. Videos and written information dotted about. Fun for all ages. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Day Out for All The Family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently visited The Tall Ship having visited the Riverside Museum first. We both really enjoyed having a look back to how things used to be - rather them than me! It is very interesting for both adults and children alike and I noted that there is a child play area on the bottom deck of the ship. I would very much recommend this attraction as being worth visiting. Wear flat shoes and if you are in any way infirm, give it a miss and the stairs to and from each deck are very steep.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great to see how ships used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had been on this ship when it was in its old mooring but my family hadnt. You dont pay to get but they "suggest" you buy the guidebook for £4. We did as it said it contained a rat hunt for my daughter. There was no rat hunt that we could see but we were given another challenge to do that was on sale for £1 separately. My daughter enjoyed doing this and seeing what life was like at sea. The event space is just that - space and i am sure its lovely when done up for a party but its a waste when you are visiting the ship. Because of what it was the ship can be very small in places and so it gets crowded. There is no "route" to follow and you can end up going round in circles, or waiting your turn to see something only to have someone push in from the other side. Some good information points around the ship explaining the use of different things etc. Its not easy to get around if you have mobility problems.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great tall ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a wonderful experience, especially if you've never been on a tall ship before. You can crawl around the holds and decks. There's several exhibits, especially for kids. Well worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tall Ship at Riverside also viewed

 

Been to The Tall Ship at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tall Ship at Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.