We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seedy Area for a National Sadium” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampden Park

Hampden Park
Letherby Drive | Mount Florida, Glasgow G42 9BA, Scotland
44-141-620-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 377 things to do in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Scottish Football Museum and the Scottish Football Hall of Fame, Hampden Park is open 7 days a week (subject to events). Tours of the stadium are available and there is ample free parking.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seedy Area for a National Sadium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to Hampden Park with my wife to see Bon Jovie on 3rd July 2013. No complains with Jon who gave an awesome performance but Hampden Park wilst being ok in its self found the location poor. Our hotel was a 45minute walk away and being fit sixty - something we decided to just that. We noticed that the nearer we got to Hampden the more seedy the area got with rubbish strewn streets ( including several matresses ) We sampled the local burger bar outside the ground and payed £10 for 2 burgers which were the most gross we had ever & immediatly binned them - decided not to complain as there were numerous " jolly Scotsmen" standing around.We have been to Wembley, Murreyfield & The Millinium Stadium in Cardiff and they are first and foremost sporting arenas and in my opinion there is not alot between them but the area where Hampdon Park is situated is seedy.

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    55
    23
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bon Jovi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Attended for a concert, brilliant night, all security and stadium staff could not have been more helpful!

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“amazing stadium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

done the stadium tour, been there for cup finals, scotland matches. great stadium, good facilities, great time each time i've been! (well some of the football scores could've been better!)

Visited March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
536 reviews 536 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
“Concert experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When Scotland had a good football team I used to visit Hampden more often however in recent decades it has only been for the occasional concert - earlier this month to see Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band.

Needless to say with a large crowd descending upon a venue in the middle of a largely residential area it is difficult to park a car so we opted for public transport. Trains from Glasgow Central station have increased frequency for these events and are well marshalled. The return trip was subject to huge queues winding around the streets monitored by mounted police and we waited for over an hour to get a train back from the event (Mount Florida is a fairly small local station). With the concert running on almost until the curfew of 11.00pm unfortunately by the time we got to Central Station onward connecting trains had stopped operating. On the plus side we had accommodation booked near the city centre.

We found that there were plenty of event staff at the stadium to assist with directions, etc. Drinks are available beyond the turnstiles although these were restricted to only four or five options and subject to purchase by “tokens” i.e. so bar staff don’t handle cash - all drinks were a fixed price of £4.50. Queuing time to pre-purchase tokens inside the stadium and waiting time at the bar were short in our experience. Some guests who had already over indulged (and presumably being a nuisance) were escorted from the stadium by security staff.

We were in the South Stand in section I 6, a seated area - and were fortunate to even have cushioned seats which was a surprise! Taking into account our arrival about an hour in advance, a three and half hour concert and an hour wait for the return train we were glad to have a seat for part of the time. Encouraged by Bruce Springsteen, most people in the seated area were standing/dancing at some stage and we thought the atmosphere in the section was very good.

The sound and lighting were also good from our viewpoint although the large screens (or binoculars) were needed to see the band who were otherwise distant figures on the stage in front of the North Stand. The seating plan online didn’t seem to tie-in particularly well with the details provided in advance when booking or those on the tickets provided a week before the event. These could be improved to match each other. If the set-up at Bruce Springsteen was typical for concerts I would avoid the West and East Stands apart from the sections closest to the South Stand as these would probably have restricted views. (I vaguely recall at a U2 concert the stage was in the middle of the pitch so this may differ for events).

We were also sheltered in the stands from any inclement weather which would not be the case if in the standing area (on the pitch). Fortunately on the night this was not an issue as it was a warm Summer evening and the only problem was shielding our eyes from the sun - we hadn’t thought sunglasses were likely to be needed! When the sun set towards the end of the concert it was a fine sight as a backdrop to the stage.

Needless to say Bruce Springsteen and the band provided hours of entertainment covering their decades of material - superb. They are unlikely to play anything other than a stadium (the crowd was around 40,000 strong) and these type of venues usually come with certain drawbacks. Our only gripe was the return journey at the end of the event and although the queue for trains was orderly we were not aware of the route this would form and probably lost hundreds of places by going in the direction we arrived. Best to exit the stadium on Letherby Drive, on to Cathcart Road, head up Cathkinview Road, Clincart Road, then Bolton Drive to the railway station - you’ll meet the queue enroute!

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Robbie Williams”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Was a great night and a fab concert. I would however ask them to rethink the stairs going down to the standing area, my friend and I felt that the white and black stripes made us feel dizzy.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampden Park also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Hampden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampden Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.