We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengoyne Distillery

Glengoyne Distillery
Dumgoyne (near Killearn), Glasgow G63 9LB, Scotland
+44 1360 550254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 74 activities in Glasgow
Type: Distilleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Often described as "Scotland's Most Beautiful Distillery", Glengoyne is open all year for guided distillery tours, whisky tastings and special events. Just a short drive from Glasgow, Stirling and Loch Lomond, this traditional, hard working distillery has been flourishing since 1833. Glengoyne's range of in-depth distillery tours, whisky tasting sessions, private dining and unique hospitality includes the legendary Master Blender tour where guests create their very own individual whisky to take home.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent way to spend a couple of hours even for non-drinkers like myself. Very interesting, staff are helpful and friendly. Tour was really good with lots of information. Different types of tours available eg tasting or non tasting.
Ordered personalized goods from shop and they were delivered in two days, excellent service.
Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    89
    15
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Leaves you wanting more than the one dram!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Not your everyday tour which is why this was all the better.

I can only highly recommend the visit which was engaging and very informative. Everybody who works there obviously takes a pride in the work and great pains are taken to make you welcome as a stranger and leave feeling like you want to be part of the Glengoyne Family.

If I ever get the chance I would love to try the master class. What I learned in the space of an hour will last a lifetime and has changed my view and my palate as far as whiskey is concerned!

Don't hesitate to go, my partner & I were glad we didn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Whiskey drinkers trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Interesting if you like whiskey , unfortunately not my tipple. But very pretty surroundings, the gentleman that showed us round seemed very knowledgable, and I learned how whiskey was made and the different strengths.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A gd hour out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As whisky experiences go this was ok , tour was ok but not the best , tour guide was good n full of information . The waterfall was gorgeous . A good hour or two .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourite distillery tours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been on a few distillery tours in the past few years and Glengoyne is one of the best I have tried. They have a range of options from the basic £7.50 tour with a tasting of the 12 year old up to a Century of Whisky tour at £150. We opted for the £10 wee tasting tour which included a more tutored tasting of the 18 year old. The tour itself was fantastic and our guide was knowledgeable, entertaining, friendly and you could tell he really enjoyed his job. The only thing that would have made it perfect would have been a visit to the warehouses to see the casks! All in all a great insight into this family owned distillery.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glengoyne Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Glengoyne Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengoyne Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glengoyne Distillery to your Saves list