We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross to your Saves list
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £57
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great stay with very helpful staff room was clean very good for a budget hotel. Bargain at only £29 per night. Within walking distance to city center or only £6 for a taxi if its raining. Plenty of places to stay in the area and plenty of bars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for your great review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Charing Cross. It's nice to hear our Team looked after you on your stay and provided you with a clean and comfortable room. Our location is very good for getting out and about in the city and close to many bars too just minutes away on Sauchiehall Street. Be sure to keep an eye on our main website for all our best prices and offers! We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    516
    223
    73
    47
See reviews for
249
438
110
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I use Premier Inns for business and have found them, in the main, really good value for this, so as I needed a hotel in central Glasgow for one night at short notice I went for another Premier Inn. There are several in Glasgow and this one was well placed for bars and a choice of restaurants. It's right next to the station and on a very busy road but the secondary glazing on top of double glazing took care of that. The hotel is in an old tower block and the public areas are ok, clean and tidy. Staff were pleasant and helpful even when they overcharged for room and breakfast they sorted it out promptly without problems. Breakfast to usual good standard with plenty of choice. Car parking outside on street or in car park, at additional cost, next door. Now on to the rooms. We had two rooms for three adults. The adult on their own managed ok in the tiny room and even smaller bathroom. The two adults in the other room struggled. Rooms were 1011 and 1015. There is only a tiny bit of clothes hanging space and that is difficult to access as the minuscule dressing table blocks access to it. If you have anything other than a hand luggage sized case with you, there us nowhere at all for it to go, it will simply block the door or take up floor space, really dangerous. The space around the bed on one side is barely big enough to get in and out of and there are several really sharp corners at floor level on which to catch your toes - my husband can testify to this as he has the injured toe to prove it. The TV is very small and wall mounted, worked ok. In the bathroom the loo is so close to the wall it's just useable, the shelf over the sink makes it difficult for anyone over 5 feet 6 inches to wash their face as they'll bang their head while doing so. Soap dispensers barely part with their contents making showering a bit of a challenge. In my view these rooms should not be let as doubles, they are only large enough for one person. I note from the floor plan that there are several of these rooms on each floor, suggest when booking you ask for room with sofa bed as these look considerably bigger. The room decor is pretty sparse and much more functional than many Premier Inns that I've stayed at, felt very down market in room, not good value for the price at all. All in all the in room part of this stay was very disappointing. Wouldn't stay here again, there are newer Premiers in City and I'd go for them. An overall suggestion for Premier Inns is to sort out the standardisation of their hotel rooms, some are very poor and almost cell like compared with others and that puts me off using them again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high quality of accommodation in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. As you mention we are a converted office block tower and this means that some of our rooms are a little off model to a purpose built Premier Inn, however your comments have been noted and we will be sure to pass these on to the Property Team for review.

I am glad though to hear that our Team and Breakfast were to the usual high standard you have come to expect from your visits to many Premier Inn hotels and if you do decide to come back with us again in the future please feel free to call in advance where we can try to allocate you a room of your choice if possible.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we do hope to welcome you back to one of our many Premier Inn hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good value,comfortable,quiet in a great location. Helpful staff particularly the bar manager who was on his own and really busy.we were on the eight floor and the views across the city were great. Shops, restaurants and bars all within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Glasgow City Charing Cross Premier Inn. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels and had a nice visit to our bar before retiring to your room to admire the views! Thanks again and the Team look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Whilst visiting friends, rebooked this hotel after staying last October.
Requested the same room prior to stay which was reserved for me without hesitation.
Ideally located for train station and also shopping area too.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your top rating of your recent stay at Premier Inn Glasgow City Charing Cross. The Team are delighted that you rated us top marks for all aspects of your stay and it's great to see that the Team managed to fulfill your room request from your previous visit with us a few months ago. We look forward to welcoming you back in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The facilities were better than I expected as was the level of cleanliness and comfort.The staff were most helpful not only to me but when dealing with other guests. I would not fault this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Charing Cross. It's great to see that we exceeded your expectations and that the Team were most helpful to all our guests. We strive to deliver the best in customer service and great reviews like this help us to know we are on the right track! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Good location near the city centre and most attractions, Right next door to Charing cross station. Next to multi=storey car park with reduce rates for hotel users, Clean spacious rooms with helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Charing Cross. It's great to see that our location proved well for you and that you found our Team to be helpful throughout your stay. Our Housekeeping Team do their best daily to deliver clean and comfortable rooms to our guests and it's great to see that you felt we achieved this. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Glasgow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned home today after a long weekend at this Premier Inn. We chose it because it's really handy for the SECC (we went to Strictly Come Dancing) and city centre shops too. An added bonus is that.Charing cross train station is less than a minutes walk away Reception was busy when we arrived but we were sorted out with keycards in less than 5 minutes by the friendly and cheerful staff. When we got to our room I realised that I had booked a double instead of a twin room so I phoned reception asking if it was possible to change? Ten minutes later we were in a lovely and bright twin room - no problem at all. Cosy, quiet and very comfortable is the rule and the beds are very comfortable indeed. Tea /coffee making equipment was there and when we asked for more teabags and coffee - no problem!
The bar and restaurant are exceptionally well set out and decorated and again, very comfortable. I knew from a visit to another Premier Inn last June that I could expect a good breakfast and I wasn't let down. Lots of beautifully cooked traditional breakfast fare, as much or as little as you want and just £8.00. There are other breakfast choices and lunch/evening meals too although we had our evening meals elsewhere - see my other reviews.
Premier Inns know exactly what the public want i.e. Good value for money. And where do they get the great staff from? Keep up the good work guys and thank you.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
What a Premier review! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Premier Inn Glasgow City Charing Cross, it's great to hear you had such a nice and pleasant stay with us.

Our Teams in every department do their best to make sure that the Guest is our main focus and it's fantastic to see that you experienced this on every part of your stay with us from check-in, to your room and through to breakfast - the Team are delighted to receive your kind comments.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.