We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable night sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross to your Saves list
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“comfortable night sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

the staff were very friendly telt me and my partner about the restaurant and wasn't too pushy into booking a table.
the bathroom is small and we had a massive clunk of hair in the plug hole.
there was what i can only presume as blood on the carpet which put me off touching anything else.
the view on the top is beautiful at night with little noise.
the bed i booked was a double but was two singles pushed together you can feel the massive bump in the middle and awkward to sleep if wanting to sleep next to your partner.

Room Tip: choose the top if possible the views are stunning over glasgow and the windows don't open like n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    517
    225
    73
    47
See reviews for
250
440
110
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
536 reviews 536 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

With Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band playing in the city on 18 June accommodation was in high demand in Glasgow for a Tuesday night and given the price paid for tickets, cost was a determining factor for us when selecting the hotel. Even Premier Inn were looking for a premium but, that said, we booked about 10 weeks in advance and got a rate of £72 for a double room on B&B basis which was very favourable in comparison to other hotels in these circumstances.

Note that there are several Premier Inn “City Centre” hotels so choose accordingly. The location of this one is near Kings Theatre and the landmark Mitchell Library at the opposite end of Sauchiehall Street from the Glasgow Concert Hall. It’s therefore not particularly convenient for a concert being staged at Hampden Park and for us it meant getting the train from adjoining Charing Cross station to Queen Street Station, a walk to Central Station and train to Mount Florida. (The return adult fare was only £2.10 so that was good).

Our arrival at the hotel around 2.00pm coincided with the less than encouraging sight of a middle-aged female being escorted into the hotel by police in what appeared to be an inebriated condition however staff dealt well with the situation. Our room, #802, was prepared so we got immediate access.

Each of the twelve levels of the hotel has twenty five rooms and eight rooms on each level are small. Needless to say, despite the odds, we were allocated one of the small ones! The largest rooms are at the corners of the building if a choice is available. Our room view was over neighbouring buildings towards Sauchiehall Street. The double glazing was effective and traffic noise from the nearby motorway was minimal.

The double bed was comfortable and in addition to the small flat screen television there were tea/coffee making facilities. A desk and chair had been squeezed in making access to the open plan wardrobe awkward. The small ensuite had a shower with good water pressure over the bath. Space in the bathroom was restricted to the extent that seated on the toilet you will be rubbing shoulders with the wall mounted toilet roll holder. The room was functional and clean which was fine for our purposes.

The three lifts operated satisfactorily in our experience although there is a bit of a delay in the doors opening and closing at each floor level to allow for an automated message which perhaps explains the comments by some TA reporters. At no stage were we tempted to walk to the eighth floor as an alternative.

Car parking in the NCP multi-storey next door was £12 for 24 hours with reception validating this discounted rate. It’s a busy place and you may need to queue for a space.

The bar/bistro opposite the hotel entrance, “Baby Grand“, doesn’t look too grand from the outside however it’s pleasant inside and based on recommendations on TA we had a good meal there mid afternoon since meals at the hotel didn‘t start until 5.00pm - too late for our plans.

The hotel bar on the mezzanine level looked quite comfortable but closed at 11.00pm before we returned from the concert. There are vending machines alongside if you’re looking for soft drinks or a snack.

Breakfast was self serve also at mezzanine level. It’s nicely furnished for a budget hotel and the hot buffet was not bad. Although there are a few options to order (e.g. poached eggs and porridge) we weren’t advised of these by the hostess - we only overheard other guests being told about them. The restaurant was very busy and staff were working at pace to keep the tables turning over so I suppose some shortcuts are taken when required.

With the concert running for about 3.5 hours (Bruce Springsteen likes to give value for money) it was around midnight before we got back to Central Station and with trains no longer operating to Charing Cross we had a long walk to the hotel. The area near the hotel has a few seedy looking bars, etc however we didn’t feel particularly unsafe. You could always get a taxi if it’s late and that is a concern.

Overall the hotel is ok for a budget option but I wouldn’t rush back unless there was an event which required a stay over in that part of town.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel, and was many times overnight from noise from the nearby motorway (which was not clearly stated online) when complaining to staff I received little sympathy the next day or any money back from the "good night garuntee". I am STILL waiting to hear from premier about my complaint let alone any refund.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were friendly, the room was clean and it was Central to everything. I have stayed in this hotel twice already and would definitely stay again.
We were on the top floor and got a lovely view of the city. It looked very impressive when it was dark and everything was lit up. We heard no noise and had a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

2nd time we've stayed at this hotel and again no complaints at all.

Remember if you use the car park to get your ticket stamped at Reception to get a reduced rate.

Also, there's a Wetherspoons in Sauchiehall Street about 5 minutes walk that serves a great breakfast for £3.19 per head - my husband and I got 2 breakfasts and 2 coffees for less than the price of 1 breakfast at the Premier Inn.

We have stayed at many Premier Inns and the only thing that ever lets it down is the price of the breakfast, although worth it if you have kids as they eat free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in Premier Inn Charing Cross Glasgow again as we were attending a show in Kings Theatre Very nice Hotel and so well situated for the Theatre and Sauchihall Street Shops. A bit more expensive for this trip but still worth it

Room Tip: Better view on higher up floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is well located for visits to all main attractions. Charing Cross station gives easy access to places further afield.Staff very welcoming and extremely helpful. Room and all facilities first rate!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on north western side great views. Good sound insulation in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross

Address: 10 Elmbank Gardens, Glasgow G2 4PP, Scotland (Formerly Premier Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 278 bedroom hotel offers an excellent location for both the business and leisure traveller. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district and just a 2 minute walk to the vibrant bars, restaurants and shops of Suachiehall St. Glasgow's rich architectural delights are a 5 minute walk - Art School, Tenement House and Park Circus. The classic yet trendy West End is a mere 5 minute drive - Botanic Gardens, Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. The contemporary Bar Est restaurant and bar offer European cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel benefits from excellent transport links, Charing Cross train station is 50 yards away, making excursions to Edinburgh and the North of Scotland highly accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel Glasgow
Premier Inn Charing Cross
Premier Travel Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - Charing Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.