We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place for someone new to the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirklee Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kirklee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirklee Hotel
11 Kensington Gate, Glasgow G12 9LG, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming place for someone new to the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was my first time to Scotland and I was traveling for a job with the University of Glasgow. This family-owned hotel is located in the quiet and beautiful west side of Glasgow. The appearance was wonderful, with a gorgeous sitting room, cozy bedroom, and nice decorations throughout. The breakfast that was brought to my room each morning was delicious and filling. The staff were very friendly and helpful, were accommodating of the odd times that I needed to arrive and leave, and helped me with various needs, such as ordering delivery and arranging a cab for me. I would recommend this for a range of purposes, since it's a 10 minute walk to the subway it is a great place to stay for business, leisure, or sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
18
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Kirklee - the service was excellent, a tasty breakfast and a place charming and full of character. I look forward to staying with you again sometime.
Dr Klaus Staubermann

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in hotel after looking at their website...nice people, good nice but not enough breakfast and no cereal. Only cooked breakfast, and 4slices of toast with no option of getting more nor a top up pot of tea as they brought your breakfast to your room. Room was tired, need a good makeover, took ages for hot water to come through the shower. Mold around the bath, wallpaper coming off, but bedding was clean although bed was soft and tended to dip in the middle. T.V was too small, hard to see from the bed.
Wasn't worth the money we paid as we felt the rooms downstairs would be nicer and bigger so felt we were subsidizing these rooms, as we were in what can only be described as attic rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. We were keen to stay somewhere we could park our car. We were only 2 mins walk from Great Western Road, from there it was about a 10 min bus journey to town, also, the owner showed us how to walk to Byres Road(about 10 mins away) where we were able to get on the "clockwork orange" (subway). Our room was massive-we asked for a double but it also had 2 single beds. Very comfortable, with a beautiful cooked breakfast. It was great to have ready access to the town centre but be in such a quiet wee terrace facing onto a park.We would definitely come back here. Lovely!

Room Tip: Be aware our room was up a lot of stairs, but we loved it, especially the view over the wee park and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This delightful hotel is within walking distance to shopping, dining (Byers Road) and Glasgow's Botanic Gardens. Although you must be prepared to walk up stairs it is worth it when you turn your key on the lovely appointed rooms with their old world charm. The owners and staff persons are lovely and go out of their way to assist you with bags, information and good service. The breakfasts were delicious and served in our room hot and with a smile.
The tub is not easily accessible as it is quite deep and the lighting in the bathroom requires an upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Helpful host - Douglas was full of local knowledge and welcoming. Easy walk into the city's attractions. Clean comfy room upstairs with an expansive guest lounge. Lovely breakfast brought to the room old-style by the chambermaid. Authentic and homely, a great Glasgow stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is situate within a lovely crescent of similar art deco type buildings ..fortunately many of the facades retain their original features which gives a very interesting feel to the area. It is only a short walk to Byers Road and the Great Western Road with Botanic Gardens is also within easy walking distance.
The entrance area and solid wooden stairwell is impressive with wood panelling, original wood panel doors, tartan carpeting and sympathetic art on the walls.
Our room was at the top of the house and, although very clean and tidy, was in need of some upgrading ...bathroom had a blue suite and it was difficult to get wet in the shower which leaked over the floor no matter how careful we were.....I guess that the delayed update of the rooms is reflected in the price we paid.
Breakfast was served in our room each morning (which was a surprise!) and the owner and staff provided excellent service.

Room Tip: Room 9 at the top of the house was quite cramped so try to get a bigger room lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kirklee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklee Hotel

Address: 11 Kensington Gate, Glasgow G12 9LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kirklee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklee Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirklee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.