We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for purpose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added McLays Guest House to your Saves list
McLays Guest House
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for purpose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed overnight In February with my girlfriend and exceeded all of our expectations based upon the price. Very close to the busy sauchiehall street which had many bars and restaurants to choose from. Comfy bed and a quiet night's sleep + polite staff = a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    171
    90
    40
    87
See reviews for
44
90
96
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
golspie
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The room was clean and had all I needed for a good price. Wouldn't want to stay very long. Breakfast was great and staff friendly.if you do find fault they don't exactly go out of their way to sort it try to fob you off first, but if you state your point hopefully it gets sorted. Not exactly great if you have disabilities as the floors are very uneven and some hallways narrow and although they have a lift it is only for one part of the building. Also a lot of noise from the huge key and metal keyfob especially when trying to sleep.

Room Tip: They are digging up drains at the front of the building and it is causing a smell in rooms 18 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

McLays was a little further from the bus station than I had thought, but only about a 10 minute walk. Perhaps the slight hill made it seem longer. Apart from that, the guest house was good. The rooms were small, but adequate and surprisingly quiet. Having a basin in the room was good.
However, the most appealing part of my stay were the friendly staff, especially at breakfast, and the breakfast itself. This was very generous and a variety of items were available. Lots of coffee or tea, several cereals, yoghurts and these were all unlimited, as far as I could see.
The building was a little bit run-down, but overall and for the price, it was definitely good value for money. I would recommend it to travelers who need to watch their budget a bit.

Room Tip: Not too sure about this one, but I guess a room on the lower floors might mean less walking, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Warm, friendly, clean and comfortable -excellent value -fabulous breakfast -this was my second visit and I'll return again. Very secure and Great location -close to the Kings Theatre, School of Art, Theatre Royal and concert halls. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very clean and comfortable beds. Very friendly and helpful local staff. No rowdy guests on a wild and wet Saturday night in Glasgow. Great nigh's sleep and fresh cooked breakfast with plenty of warm toast. Represents very good value for money. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 86 and 87 make a suite for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had been told by a friend that this was basic, but at the money I paid (£35 a night) I certainly would not complain. Staff were friendly, breakfast was substantial and room was very clean. However, corridors are looking very down at heel and there was a noise coming from outside the building which I could not identify which severely impacted on my sleep. Very handily situated for Sauchiehall Street in particular, I will certainly use this hotel again on my next visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

would be a decent hotel at 30-40pound a night but for 100 a night its way over priced, room was clean but cold with heating on and bathroom was hidden under some stairs and you needed to be under 4ft to shower if your over 5ftyour either hunching down just get in bathroom or crawiling too get in. ive never had to have a shower on my knees to wash my hair before, almost felt like camping, shower rail was also held on by a piece of string and shower curtain was made for a adult shower, not a midget one so water never drained out of bath and curtain was covered in mildew/mould. breakfast was decent but greasy would be no good for anyone living a healthy lifestyle. would class it more of a hostel than hotel. it prices reflected conditions it wouldnt feel as much of a rip off. if available pick another hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas, nightclubs etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Budget Places, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLays Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.