We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added McLays Guest House to your Saves list
McLays Guest House
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

where do i start ...with the staff,thats because they are the first people you see as you come up the stairs anne and scott are very special they make you feel so welcome ,and we have been coming here for over 20 yrs .....and would come for another 20yrs as long as anne is at the desk.....the rest of the staff are fantastic as well........so is the owner ......long live mclays......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    159
    86
    37
    85
See reviews for
40
86
92
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice guest house, in a great location in central Glasgow. Friendly and helpful staff. Can't really complain, the price was very good. We actually stayed there twice, our first stop in Glasgow, then a week later when we returned to Glasgow. Would probably choose McLays again. You can also meet other travellers from other countries, if you wish.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed and could not have asked for a better night. The place was in a great location, walking distance to the centre of town. Our room was very tidy, had a comfy bed, tv and the ensuite was very clean. The staff were really nice and the hot breakfast was lovely. We will definitely come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

great place to stay. They upgraded my room at no extra cost which had just been painted.
The breakfast was freshly made as much toast as you wanted which was lovely and hot. Five mins from the City Centre. I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

McLays is in a great location, just off Sauchiehall Street between the City Centre and the University. It provides a basic room, and is clean but a little scruffy and dated. Staff were friendly, and helpful. Limited choice of breakfast, but nicely cooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The stay was only for one night but were made as welcome as a long stay guest, excellent stay lovely breakfast selection. Staff are pleasent well mannered and is value for money. I've told family and friends if going to glasgow stay at the McLays well worth it. have stayed two one nights and will stay again if in glasgow if available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Reading the neurotic review written by jocelyn85, I wonder if we have stayed in the same place.
It is not a hostel, so I am wondering where she stayed.
However I have been coming this Hotel for several years, and in fact am returning there in a few days. As someone else pointed out, it is not the Hilton, but the Hilton is unaffordable and unnecessary when McLays is available. McLays has a friendly and cheerful staff, who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Many places give no breakfast, but McLays do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — McLays Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas, nightclubs etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Budget Places, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLays Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.