We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to city centre n very friendly environment compared to cheap prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLays Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added McLays Guest House to your Saves list
McLays Guest House
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“close to city centre n very friendly environment compared to cheap prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I d like to say that I stayed for two nights in McLays Guest House and I was very happy with the room, staff and the environment they give to the guests. The house is very close to city centre just 10 minutes walk to University of Glasgow and 15 minutes to historical places. You do not need any bus or taxi. I strongly suggest this guest house for all people who are willing to visit Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    172
    90
    40
    87
See reviews for
44
91
96
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

1st time at McLays n was pleasantly surprised, considering the reasonable rates. It is in a good location with the city centre a stone throw away. The staff were very nice and friendly and rooms were kept tidy with new towels etc everyday. Pleasant experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I visited mclays a few weeks ago with a friend this B&B was cheap and was in the city.
After i had been here i decided i would not be going back. The receptionist was very rude, i was greeted by her chewing gum in my face. when we arrived our room was not ready and our booking had not even been noted down when i had phoned 4 weeks before, so we were made wait over a half an hour until a room was ready for us. When we arrived in our room we looked around and noticed the shower hose kept falling down when turned on, there was no hot water in the bathroom sink as only water came from the cold tap, we had no remote for our tv and our kettle did not work, also the cups provided for making tea/coffee were dirty and unwashed. We also noticed that we had been over charged by £10 and when we mentioned this to the receptionist she was very rude and didnt seem happy to give us our money back, the next morning we went down for breakfast and it was very poor, we were served, a lousy piece of bacon, beans that took up most of the plate, an egg, tomato and a potato scone. Did they ever hear of a sausage??.... clearly not!! personally i do not like any of what was provided on our breakfast and there was nothing provided for vegetarians. Over all this B&B is awful....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Have been to MacLays a few times, usually for a concert in Glasgow. the staff are always friendly and recognise us, asking who we are going to see.
Its near the city centre so dont need to pay for taxis or buses.
You get a nice fried breakfast or a choice of cereal and toast

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

They offered the really nice breakfast and the bathroom was clean. The staffs in the reception were warm and easygoing. Although the location is a little far from the central station, the cost-effective is still worthy. You can use free WIFI in the dinining room. Good experience I can said.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

me and my friend went there for the weekend, walked in - greeted very badly and rude, carpet was suppose to be beige but was full of stains, wood on the desk was all chipepd and old looking, very unclean. receiptionist was very rude and disgusting manner to talk to her staff. went to view our room- holes in the door, black tv, beds that needs chucked out years ago, old fashioned unclean curtains, look out the window to see old dead plants full of water and whatever else.hair on the toilet like it hadnt been cleaned, all in the toilet was disgusting. All around the shower was mould, I wouldn't recommend this to a homeless person. We walked back out the room the after viewing it and got our money back. The reception was horrible about that too, but there was no way on earth we were spending our 3 days there. So we left and went to the new easyjet hotel. Recommend it to anyone... CLEAN and very POLITE STAFF. We were cheaper to stay in the easyjet hotel than this one and you get treated much better. I don't know how this place is still open, its vile. And as for the receptionist which I presume her name is Anne from other reviews about her, you should change your attitude big time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballykelly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here 30thMarch-2nd April have no complaints was a bit worried I must admit after reading some of the reviews on here. But glad I ignored them as the location was great the rooms where clean and the staff where so helpful and a good laugh. I would defo stay again no problem.

Room Tip: If need to get a taxi use the private cabs not the Black cabs as they are a lot more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to McLays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLays Guest House

Address: 260 - 276 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — McLays Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McLays’ offers great value budget accommodation in the heart of the city centre. We are superbly located for visiting Glasgow’s many museums and art galleries and just minutes away from Glasgow’s finest shopping streets Sauchiehall Street and Buchanan Street where in addition you shall find an excellent selection of restaurants, cafes, bars, cinemas, nightclubs etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Budget Places, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your McLays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclays Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Mclays Hotel Glasgow
McLays Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLays Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.