We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel in Glasgow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Park Guest House

Save Saved
You added Manor Park Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor Park Guest House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28 Balshagray Drive | Broomhill, Glasgow G11 7DD, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Consecon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small hotel in Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Manor Park Hotel twice, for a few days each time, while visiting our son who lives in Glasgow. Although the owners have changed since our last visit, we found the hotel to be comfortable & welcoming. It is well-located for travelling around the city. The breakfasts were good & the hosts were helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting your son.
Hope to see you again when next in Glasgow
Best wishes
Scott and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
45
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved everything about this place: the spacious, clean room; the comfortable bed; the convenient location only a short walk from the university; and especially the lovely hostess, Fiona. She was incredibly helpful in every possible way. The building has a lot of charm, and we would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
thank you for your kind review. glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
best wishes
scott and fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sometimes you read reviews on Trip Advisor of Bed and Breakfasts in old cities and the guests complain that things were old, or there was no lift, or the stairs creaked and I think to myself 'If you don't want old house charm even with it's inconveniences, stay at the shiny new Hilton down the road'. This is an old and very lovely manor in a quiet but convenient location in Glasgow. It is a bit hard to find as your GPS will get befuddled so be sure to have a decent map or ask your hosts ahead of time. Parking is plentiful under gorgeous trees along the old park road. Our family of four was in the top floor attic room and it was large and comfortable, the shower and water pressure were as expected for an old house but just fine, noise and ample fresh air were no problem, and the room was clean. The hosts put a little individual sized soap bar on your bed, they make to order a traditional breakfast and even made take away sandwiches for my son who hadn't felt like an early meal. They are lovely and accommodating and I felt deserved a high review. We would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Scott and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

At the beginning of July we had a very enjoyable six nights stay in this quite traditional guest house. The hosts, Scott & Fiona were very warm & welcoming and were always happy to give information about Scotland and its attractions. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean as was the bed linen. We could not fault the breakfasts where there were many choices. Our favourite was the full Scottish breakfast which apart from eggs, bacon, tomatoes, etc could include haggis and black pudding - delicious! The ladies taking our breakfast orders were lovely and always happy to please. This guest house is only about 15 minutes walk away from the train station and underground. We would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was fine. Have no idea what the other rooms were like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you had a good stay with us.
best wishes
Scott and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent accommodation at a great price. Facilities are very good both in the room and the hotel as a whole. Breakfast provided was of a high standard and more than expected. The room we stayed in(12) was an en suite unit pleasantly furnitured, light and airy with more than adequate ventilation or heat if required with television and facilities for making tea or coffee.

The hotel is situated in a tree lined avenue near a major road junction but the noise of any traffic cannot be heard from within. A very pleasant park is close to the premises and we enjoyed a visit to it.

Other amenities are close by including shops, pubs and restaurants as well as bus and metro links to the main city centre

Proprietors went out of their way to be helpful and were extremely pleasant offering help and advice regarding local facilities for eating out and entertainment .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you had a good stay.
best wishes
Scott and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The proprietor is a really pleasant lady who wants to please. But be aware this is a 'small hotel' as distinct from a 'friendly B&B that welcomes you with tea and cake'.

The rooms are wonderfully large Victorian high ceiling jobs. The downside is that a very busy dual carriageway runs twenty metres or so in front of the hotel (you are sheltered by trees) and so you either have your windows firmly closed or suffer all-night traffic noise. Also the lime trees outside the hotel will drip on your car and leave it sticky.

We thought that this was near to the university and so there would be bistros etc for your evening meal. It's far from being the worst neighbourhood in Glasgow. It is tree lined and pleasant, but eateries are like hen's teeth.

Breakfast was standard and fine. But why oh why do we have to endure Jimmy Shand and His Band playing reels on an old sound system at Scottish breakfasts?

We came away thinking it was a bit tired and dark and slightly depressing. There wasn't any sparkle. It was just a good standard B&B at a reasonable price and certainly nothing to put you off, but nothing to attract us back either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. There are at least 6 good eating places open during the day within 5 to 10mins walk, and 4 of them also serve meals until 9pm. A 5 min drive takes you to the heart of the west end with many cafes and bars. We have the menus beside the tourist info leaflets at the front entrance. and would have been happy to give advice. We are a guest house in Scotland and support and enjoy traditional scottish music & gaelic singing played by local bands.
regards
Scott and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed there for one night. The owner was incredibly nice and helpful, told us how to get to all the places we wanted to go and gave some extra inforamtion. The place is nice but in our opinion a bit overpriced regarding the standard. The house is located in a pleasant neighourhood, quite away from the city center, but easily accesible by the car. No problem with free parking on the street. Rooms in Scottish style, romantic and well equipped. Bathroom on the other hand was rather small, in much lower standard. Windows with cobwebs, difficult to open. Bed uncomfortable, small even for two slim persons. Breakfast very good, guest could choose between continental and Scottish.

Room Tip: take the room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themanorpark, Owner at Manor Park Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt it was a little overpriced. Our prices are the same or less than comparable guest houses in glasgow for peak holiday times. As this is a C listed building the windows are original and do require a lot of mantenance. We are currently working our way around them hence the stiff bathroom window, but the room window opens easily. Regarding the cob webb, I can only apologise it has been missed during cleaning.
The bed is a normal double bed size.
best wishes
Scott and Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Park Guest House

Address: 28 Balshagray Drive | Broomhill, Glasgow G11 7DD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Park Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Park Guest House with resident hosts Scott & Fiona Grier provides a peaceful location in Glasgow’s fashionable west end, minutes away from Victoria Park. The elegant three star guest house offers guests the ultimate in personal service at affordable prices.Ideally situated for the SECC, the world famous Kelvingrove Art Galleries, the Universities, Scotstoun Leisure Centre and Glasgow Airport, the Manor Park Guest House is the perfect choice whether on holiday or on business. Easy access to Scotland’s motorway network and major sightseeing routes, and free on street parking outside the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Manor Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Park
Manor Park Glasgow
Manor Park Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.