We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at a nice hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandyford Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sandyford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sandyford Hotel
904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay at a nice hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Sandyford Hotel on Monday 1st July. It was a business trip which was booked for me by a colleague at work.

Even though there were no major negatives or positives I probably wouldn't recommend to stay here for more than one night. Its not a hotel that is suitable for tourists/holidaymakers who would need a longer stay.

My room was nice, staff were nice, public areas were nice, breakfast was nice. All in all it was a nice stay but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    146
    53
    26
    19
See reviews for
40
114
40
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

we stayed 1 night for a gig staff very helpful room clean and tidy more than adequate for what we needed. We had a triple room which wasn't huge but 3 single beds which were comfy enough only downside was the pillows very soft. Breakfast was really good wide choice and staff very helpful would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just stayed for the one night. Staff were very helpful. The only negative comment- being picky- would be that the pillows were useless. Was down for a gig, decent pubs within 2 min walk. Rooms were tidy, felt shower cubicle was big enough, as I am over 6ft and not exactly skinny I would have preferred more traditional breakfast arrangements, meaning pot of tea instead of machines and toast rack etc. Overall, I would stay here again, you get what you pay for, and for £40 I felt it was good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a large group of people an check in was pretty smooth. Had to put our keys at reception every time we left the place. Also we were on the top floor and there was no elevators so it was quite difficult to carry all out luggage up to the top. The shower was very average as well being very hot or very cold. Other than that the place was very clean and we had nice staff. The wifi was excellent on all floors.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's close proximity to the SECC which is only a ten-minute walk away. If you are looking for a good-value hotel, convenient for exploring the wonderful city of Glasgow and all it has to offer, then look no further. There are plenty of shops/restaurants nearby but if you want to try Mother India (opposite the hotel) it's advisable to book - it's very popular as the food is AMAZING. Our hotel room was basic but very comfortable and I loved the fact that you can open the windows. There was a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, but oddly, no hairdryer but if required, one can be obtained from reception. The shower/loo was small and arguably a little tired-looking but was spotlessly clean and more than fit for purpose. Breakfast was truly excellent, as much as you can eat, with a great choice, including haggis, a great way to start a hard-day's sightseeing. The staff here are brilliant, polite and smiling, nothing is too much trouble. The receptionist was so helpful; she answered all our questions and even provided us with tickets which gave a small discount for the hop-on-hop-off citybus. Although the hotel has no car park, there is plenty of on-street parking behind the building and you can get cheap daily parking permit from reception. All in all, this is an excellent, good-value hotel which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift, so if you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have used this hotel a couple of times when attending a concert at the nearby SECC - only 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Both times the hotel has provided a good nights sleep, and a nice cooked breakfast before departing. Only real gripes are small shower cubicles and lack of lift. Plenty nearby restaurants and pubs if you want to eat locally. Good value, and easy parking - pay and display - near to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckie
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from our latest trip to Glasgow and a stay at the Sandyford. We managed to get an excellent price for the weekend and cannot fault this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. I phoned ahead and asked for a room on the lower floors when i first made my booking and my request was granted.
The breakfast was nice and the staff we met were all pleasant. Will return to the Sandyford without hesitation.
There is a nice bright pleasant reception area with sofas where we relaxed with our Sunday papers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors might be a good idea,the stairs looks pretty steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandyford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandyford Hotel

Address: 904 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sandyford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandyford Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandyford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.