We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location basic but good!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandyford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandyford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Royal Crescent, Glasgow G3 7SL, Scotland (Formerly The Townhouse Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location basic but good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed here in feb2011 for 4 nights,room very large shared a twin with friend,plenty of space,toilet was small but very warm as heating was on constant throughout stay,very nice as was snowing in glasgow!!
Hotel staff very pleasant,brekike was fun as waitress didnt speak much english although she got the just of what we said! had a great stay and would stay again!
Clean basic cheap accomodation just what you need for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    10
    16
    21
See reviews for
14
25
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed here when my son got admitted to yorkhill hospital. The room was grubby and cold, toilet was freezing as there was no radiator in toilet. Breakfast was very basic, the selection of fresh fruit was an industrial size can of fruit salad in syrup in a large bowl. Cost was £30 a night. Would not recommend

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed for 7 nights at this cozy hotel. I was there for a conference at the SECC. The room was clean and big enough for one person. The bathroom is pretty small though but it didn't really bother me. The staff and other guests were really friendly. Breakfast was okay with a modest selection of food and on top of that, I ordered the usual breakfast meal from the cook.

The location is perfect. You've got a park just less than 5 minute walk from the hotel and the tube station about the same walking distance. I would recommend this hotel, but just don't put too high of expectation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel is in a great local in the city centre in a lovely Georgian terrace, but looks can be deceiving, definately in the budget bracket. We paid £80 for a triple room for bed and breakfast. But breakfast was contiental only as no cook, no reduction given on the price for this. Hotel was tired, facilities basic, room in need of renovation, old fashioned and not that clean. There will better hotels in the area. Rating is quoted as 2 or 3 stars- no way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernski
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We arrived early and were allowed early access to our room, which my son & I found to be clean & roomy, the receptionist was welcoming. We only stayed one night as this was a short break to watch football. Situated near to city centre and the other way for museums & a 10 min walk to Kelvinhall subway station, also boasts many resturants too. Importantly this hotel is a 2 or 3 star, cheap to stay , I feel other reviews expect to much for this. A mention for the dinning room area, very cosy & the chef & staff keen to serve, also polite chambermaids as well. I reccomend this hotel , we will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

very good and confy, except heater is not so strong so if you´re from a tropical country like me, you might feel a bit cold.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel three times previously from 2006 to 2009 and would now never go back. Glad we were only staying for one night. On arrival the reception staff tried to rip us off, trying to charge £60 for the night when their website clearly stated £40 for this time of year, trying to argue that my partner and I were in the wrong. Eventually price was brought down to £40 although no apology. The room was a disgrace: picture frame on wall had a huge crack across it and looked unsafe, absolutely no view from bedroom window, TV on played static and the tiles in the bathroom were all cracked - a complete safety hazard. Bags of laundry littered the corridors. Didn't try the breakfast facilities but cannot comment. When i first stayed at this hotel we saw it as a hidden gem but had gravely gone downhill and is now a huge let-down.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandyford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyford Lodge Hotel

Address: 21 Royal Crescent, Glasgow G3 7SL, Scotland (Formerly The Townhouse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandyford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandyford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Glasgow
Sandyford Lodge Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandyford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.