We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pipers' Tryst Hotel to your Saves list
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This quaint hotel has only 8 rooms, a small restaurant and is well kept. I arrived a week early and they were very accommodating. Room was clean and spacious with good facilities and soap etc provided. Breakfast is included for cereal and toast but remember to take some cash with you if you want hot food. I didn't opt to buy extra but ordinarily I would - just wasn't hungry. Reason for four stars is I slept badly. Loud noise from something like a vent? Constant and too loud for me, but I am a light sleeper and I don't think it's all the hotels fault. Bed was very comfortable and warm. Just me I suppose. All in all a good place

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    86
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
40
111
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My (brand new) wife and I were married here on the 9th of November 2013.

I cannot speak highly enough of the venue and staff. From the first visit everything was fantastic, Caitlin who handled the booking and was our main point of contact attended to our every need with an ever present smile. Our families came at various times to look around. sample the food and ask questions. They never once left without saying something nice about how accommodating everyone was. Even though we left a lot of things last minute, table names a day or two before for example, the wonderful staff had everything we asked for ready and waiting on the day.

On the day things got better. Sophie, looked after us all day and Caitlin was on hand to make sure everything was perfect - which it was!-. All guests were taken care of (dietary requirements were expertly handled and the food was terrific. I could go on all day about the little touches, they managed to get a beer I was dying to have at my wedding and I had one waiting for me after the ceremony was done, as one of the bar staff had heard me say it was my favourite.

The piping centre recommended our fantastic band and various other people who helped make our day special.

I could go on all day about how great the venue and the staff are.

Thank you so much for a day we will never forget.

Marc and Catrina!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

On our recent visit we were so looking forward to our meal in the restaurant, unfortunately we were dissapointed, we were impressed with the selection of malt whisky cases on the shelf and proceeded to order some, we were told the whisky was all upstairs at a wedding, oh dear ! the young lady said she would try and get some for us to no avail as the speeches were on and she couldn't get to the bar, oh well we will just have a jug of water. Oh my the jugs were also all at the wedding ! our starters and meal were very nice but we felt definately overpriced and not the large portions we expected after reading a few reviews about them.
The young man waiting on us was very polite and attentive, sometimes too much so. The girls need to smile more but were nice, our table was right at the door with the ramp and the wedding party were in and out constantly going to their rooms which I presumed was door they aimed for in the middle of the restaurant, every time the door opened the cold draughft was almost unbearable on such a cold miserable night. On the up side the Gaelic Coffee's were the best we had ever tasted and very well executed.
Im sorry we wont be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great big bed, comfortable, warm, fantastic bath with shower. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and the housekeeping lady was particularly excellent. The only thing that would improve my stay would be including the delicious smoked haddock breakfast in the cost, but sadly for me it was just the continental. But this was clear from the outset so I can't complain. Well priced and i will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law recently held their wedding reception in The National Piping Centre. This building includes a function suite, museum of piping, bagpipe shop, restaurant and small hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and everything was done very professionally and tastefully. The red carpet was laid out for us and the wedding party was piped in - all part of the normal service. The guests were able to browse the articles in the display cases in the museum, whilst enjoying some sparkling wine and canapes ,as they awaited the arrival of the wedding party. The whole building, apart form the public restaurant, was being used exclusively for the wedding. The meal , which was served in the function suite, was cooked to a high standard and that standard was maintained throughout the rest of the evening. We had 100 guests in all including the evening guests and I felt this was just an ideal number for the size of the function suite. There are eight hotel rooms available in the building which was just a nice number for the actual wedding party as there are plenty of hotels nearby to accomodate guests. Our room was comfortable and well equipped, a little noisy perhaps but situated right in the centre of Glasgow and on a Saturday night! At breakfast the next morning, that excellent service continued. I would recommend the National Piping Centre to anyone as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My mum got married here and the staff were fantastic - only down side was the bedrooms were very basic, especially for a bride - they could have provided a few little extras. Breakfast was over cooked and not a great standard but dinner was gorgeous

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first night in a Scotland here and find it to be excellent for our purposes. The king bed took up a good portion of the room but it was no bother. Nice location and v quiet. The staff was also helpful. Unfortunately it was a Sunday night so we didn't get to enjoy the bar or restaurant. But my husband loved the piping themes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers’ Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 3 star ‘Restaurant with Rooms’. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, a direct dial telephone, colour TV, radio, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers’ Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.