We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sherbrooke Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free onsite parking & WiF
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Went to Scotland with work for three days as I do very often, a colleague had booked us into a premier inn a few weeks before and I cancelled it ( because I hate boring hotels) and forgot to book anything. We realised at 5pm on the night and had a mad panic ring around, managed to get 2 rooms here but not in main hotel, was told rooms across car park athe back. Was quite worried about the rooms not being in main hotel, but wow what a surprise the rooms were fantastic. Really big with lounge area, massive bed and great size bathroom. Evening meal and breakfast were good too.
Looking forward to returning soon. Thanks

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
114
183
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a beautiful castle hotel that is small and yet very well run. Beautiful decor, welcoming staff, comfortable rooms. A beautiful old building but with modern amenities in the rooms. The rooms are spacious and my room had a beautiful garden view. Only minor downside was the breakfast buffet which doesn't open early enough, and the variety on the breakfast menu wasn't great, but these are minor and really didn't influence e overall great experience we had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My room was huge with a king-size bed and a bathroom you could have a party in! That was good, but the best was the staff who were thoughtful, helpful and efficient. I ate at the hotel in the evenings and the food was excellent - good portion-size, delicious and reasonably priced. The service matched the quality of the meal. The breakfast was equally brilliant with good fresh food and that good service again.
The hotel is full of character, in a stunning position. I was very interested to note that each taxi driver taking me to, or collecting me from the hotel had very good things to say about it - the food, the rooms, the location and the hotel as a wedding venue. There was a wedding during my stay and the guests clearly had a wonderful time!
I will stop here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobberely
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location but for the money very poor! Probably the most uncomfortable bed in the world!! Thankfully they don't guarantee a good nights sleep!!! Nice breakfast but the service left a lot to be desired! Took 30 minutes for a pot of tea!!

Room Tip: Book a Premier Inn!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One night stay for a friends funeral.
Staff were very helpful and efficient throughout the 2 days.
Also very friendly.
Paintings on wall were very impressive as was the appearance of the hotel from the outside.
It was situated in a lovely leafy surburb. Thought the beverages were a little expensive but that was only a trivial matter compared to all the positives.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not over looking the front entrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I wanted to have my wedding reception at the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel as soon as I stepped inside. Throughout our wedding plans the staff were helpful and friendly and quickly responded to email queries etc.

We were very impressed with the food and bar service on the day of our wedding. The food was great any many of our guests commented on how delicious the meal was. I was very happy with the way in which the staff decorated the hotel stairway and the dining room (with the help of our florist) and conservatory/ bar area. The staff couldn't do enough for us and made sure that everything ran smoothly.

The Bridal Suite was lovely with a beautiful four poster bed and modern and what appeared to me to be a recently upgraded bathroom.

I would definitely go back to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel for a meal or afternoon tea... or to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We got married here on the 20th of October this year. The place is stunning and it made for a fantastic venue to have our wedding in. We had some doubts about it after booking as there was a perceived lack of communication from the hotel.. but once the day got closer it became clear that this was simply because the hotel was so good at handling weddings and we really didnt have to do very much at all....all of the staff were very helpful and put us at ease at every step of the way. The rooms are stunning, the food is some of the best I have ever had at a hotel, service was excellent and the overall experience was top class. I cannot recommend the Sherbrooke highly enough.Massive thanks to William and all of the other staff for making our wedding such a fantastic day. Brilliant experience all round.

Room Tip: While the rooms in the annex are still top class.. try and stay in the main building, it is stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel is a magnificent 4 star baronial hotel crafted in rich red sandstone and set in beautifully landscaped gardens in the leafy suburb of Pollokshields in Glasgow's Southside. The hotel has luxury bedrooms and suites, a lounge bar, restaurant and meetings and event facilities for up to 200 guests. At the Sherbrooke, we have combined traditional grace with modern efficiency. Prestige with convenience. The result is a unique experience. A genuine experience. The Sherbrooke experience. We look forward to welcoming you to the Sherbrooke Castle Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.