We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for stay in Glasgow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sherbrooke Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location for stay in Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We have been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel a few times now whilst we stay in Glasgow for a short break. The hotel is in a good residential area, and a ten minute train journey to City Central. Nearby within walking distance is Bellahouston Park - House for an Art Lover - Rennie McKintosh.

The breakfast can do a bit of a makeover too. Not much variations and the full breakfast was a bit dull with the usual. Toast came in cold so had to order some more fresh toast. A waste I thought.

The only thing about Sherbrooke was that the receptionist - she was absolutely rude in that when we arrived she didn't even look up to greet us. I checked in with my partner and all she said was this is your room number and gave us the timings of breakfast. Sherbrooke can definitely upgrade their receptionist with a pleasant manner and not greet guests with a sour face, The lady in question is a middle aged woman, very abrupt and not pleasant. However, having said that, we will go back to Sherbrooke as they are always very accomodating.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    90
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
129
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We had a very relaxing and peaceful overnight stay at the Sherbrooke Castle not something you normally find in Glasgow city centre. The hotel is set in a very affluent and quiet area and is very majestic sitting in it's owns gardens.
We also chose to dine in and ate a very good meal and at reasonable prices too! We had a garden room which was adjacent to the hotel which made for a good nights sleep. Rooms were very spacious spotlessly clean and the bathrooms were large modern and also spotless! I would definitely recommend a stay at the property, good location and also for public transport too !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room/suite very quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Chose Sherbrook Castle Hotel because we wanted to walk to visit the Burrell Collection in Pollak Park, about a mile away. The hotel is on a quiet residential street with large Victorian houses set in large garden plots.

Hotel was perfect- stayed for dinner and pleased we did- food beautifully cooked- the evening meal was a delight [+ the best cooked breakfast I've had in years]. Though we weren't long in the bar area, the bartender was thoughtful and helpful [the bar lounge decoration was a bit 'tired'- probably due to its popularity].

We booked very late so had no expectations about the room- we got Room 11: as we climbed the stair to the roofspace we were uneasy about what we'd find but what a room!
Bathroom in the turret with a full bath, great shower and great views on 3 sides. The king sized bed in the separate bedroom was off a small comfy lounge area.

Staff were all very helpful, attentive and friendly. The receptionists offered umbrellas in case it rained during our walk, helped us find the quickest route and went on the internet to find opening times for Charles Rennie MacKintosh's 'House for an Art Lover' also within walking distance.

All in all, one of the best hotels we've stayed in regardless of the star rating or price, yet only £90 for one night- we'd go again, which speaks volumes.

Room Tip: Stay for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

very nice hotel, great staff, lovely food! really homely feel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed here for just one night whilst on a business trip to Glasgow. The hotel is well-situated for access from the M8. It is just one stop away from Glasgow Central station with a journey time of just 10 minutes into the city centre.

The a la carte dinner selection is quite restricted; we'd have liked to choose from the bar/lounge menue but wished to eat in the dining room.

Breakfast was the usual self-selection for cold choice and cooked-to-order for the hot selection. I chose smoked salmon with scrambled eggs which was excellent.

The building is an interesting old merchant's house with wood panelled walls and high ceilings. Public areas are furnished in the strangest miss-matched style and is looking very tired. The bedroom was comfortably furnished and very clean. The bathroom looked to have been recently refurbished, no bath but a double-width shower.

We'd happily return here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sherbrooke Castle Hotel for our one year anniversary. Just a short trip out of Glasgow city, the hotel is in a convenient location. We were a bit dissapointed at first when we discovered the room wasn't actually in the castle. We had booked a suite online and were given a key to a garden suite, which inside actually felt more like a room from a 4 or 5 star hotel. The room was recently renovated, generously furnished, featured a flat panel tv and had a large shower. The bed was comfortable too. The restaurant inside the castle had excellent service, a warm, quiet and relaxed atmosphere. For breakfast, there was a large selection to choose from, including freshly prepared servings. At the discounted online booking rate, this place represented great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We booked the hotel through the tourist office at the last minute. As there were not any room in our booked price range due to a wedding, the reception automatically upgraded us to the suite upstairs. And the experience just got better and better from there.

We were given the best service. They even offered free laundry service (not dry cleaning). As the castle is away from the city, it's nice to stay out of the crowd for a while. The train is about five minutes walk and it takes you right to the city, but if you have a car, there is free parking. We were lazy and did not wish to go to the city much, so we had all the meals in the hotel most of the time, and they were great.

The suite has a sky window, which was so nice at night because we could see the snow falling on to the roof.

Free WIFI, parking, excellent service, great food, big rooms, comfortable bed, a bath and a shower, a living room to relax, coffee and tea, warm and cozy, what else could you ask for for only 90 pound?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sherbrooke Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Castle Hotel

Address: 11 Sherbrooke Avenue | Pollokshields, Glasgow G41 4PG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherbrooke Castle Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sherbrooke Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Castle Glasgow
Hotel Sherbrooke Castle
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherbrooke Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.