We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
tarbert
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

stayed here due to work and was pleased with the experience .as others have said very unique hotel with the very friendly and hospitable welcome .it isn't too easy to find as its part of Caledonian chambers.great location for train station and city centre shopping .the restaurant has 22 covers and has the same bespoke welcome as reception .good value and quirky worth a shot

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    174
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
280
44
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bebington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived by train at Central Station and the hotel was about 2 minutes walk away - so convenient.
It's a bit odd, as it's on the top floor of a commercial block, but it's fabulous.
We were greeted at reception, given a tour of the facilities, then taken to our room and plied with cupcakes and hot drinks. The staff are wonderful. So helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and all the towels and bed linens are top quality. Sky TV with all the movie and sports channels.
They do a lovely 3 course evening meal which is different every evening and their slogan is 'Don't eat alone, join us for supper' so wonderful for solo travelers.
Very nice breakfast - especially loved the honey and spelt bread which comes in fresh from a Bavarian bakery every morning. I asked for a veggie breakfast and got one.
From our window we could see the Lighthouse Centre. So convenient for everything.
Only slight down side was from my husband who prefers his coffee hotter than they serve.
We will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here on two separate occasions and the service was unparalleled. Sean, who works the front desk, gave us detailed descriptions of things to do and places to see. He even took out his phone and showed us pictures from some of his own visits. Per his recommendation we had an incredible time in glasgow.

The rooms at grasshopper are clean, lovely and comfortable. The breakfast in the mornings were always delicious and fresh and we enjoyed the cupcakes they provide in the corridor throughout the day. We also enjoyed a dinner in The Kitchen, and although the cook, Margot, swears she is not a trained chef, her food is phenomenal! Best meal we had in Glasgow actually.

Our stay was nothing short of spectacular. I will always go back to Grasshoppers hotel. Not to mention the location is smack dab in the middle of all the best shopping and train stations and subways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was put up here for 2 nights for work with 3 other colleagues. When we approached the entrance we were concerned that we'd be staying in a backpackers' hostel and went up to the 6th floor with trepidation. However, all our fears were dispelled as soon as we exited the lift and entered a light, bright airy space. The place is reminiscent of an upmarket version of Ikea, clean lines, bright colours and spotlessly clean with functional high quality furniture. Each bedroom has a feature wall with Missprint wallpaper which adds style and quirkiness to the rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable, the double power shower a real treat as are the free cupcakes and shortbread around the hotel.
We ate in both nights and on both occasions had a fantastic meal with really generous portions. The breakfasts were excellent too. The owner and staff are really welcoming and helpful making sure you have a really comfortable stay. Can't wait for my next trip to Glasgow to stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr. Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Tucked away on the 6th floor of Caledonian Chambers on Union Street, you would have to know that this fantastic boutique hotel was perched on the top floor, occupying commanding views over the roof of Central Station, to avail yourself of this home from home. The room design is modern, immaculately clean and had an amazing en-suite shower/bathroom. The staff are charm personified and really can't do enough to make your stay memorably enjoyable. Brooke, even came up with a list of restaurants to try on our Friday night stay, as this was the one weekday night that dinner was not available in house. Centrally located for easy access to almost any part of the city centre, this is an ideal location if you are arriving in Glasgow by train or are planning to attend an evening event and live some distance away.

Cannot speak highly enough of our experience, which was great from start to finish and even saw Simon the General Manager multi tasking on room changes as part of the team effort in delivering top class service to guests. We will be returning soon for more of the Grasshopper experience.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Central Station roof are slightly less noisy at night than those overlooking U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed two nights in this hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The decor was wooden floors and neutral colours with one different statement wall in each room. The staement wallpaper was available to buy. I was on my own and had a large double room with an en suite with a double size shower. The whole place was spotlessly clean. The food was amazing. Both breakfast and supper was of a very high standard accompanied by rustic bread. I had a fabulous stay here.

Room Tip: Book early it is a popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Grasshoppers Hotel was a good experience. Very clean, comfortable and modern hotel. Located right above the Central train station (Union Street). Good service, great morning breakfast and good price considering the location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: 87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a new luxury penthouse hotel with 30 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 30 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood paneled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe’s largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh’s renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.