We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glasgow visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Glasgow visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visited Glasgow and stayed at the Grasshopper Hotel, Had some concerns about entering from the street, and lift to the sixth floor but presented no problems to us at any time or in the evenings. Very modern rooms, but very small, would not like to stay for more than two nights, extremely suitable for business people. Hard to find a place for the cases. Our rooms were at the rear of the hotel, over the Glasgow Central station but this certainly did not present a problem at all. Kitchen area was very small, but bright and cheerful. Breakfast was well presented and ladies cheerful and helpful at all times as were the other taff there. . We did not have an evening meal there as there are so many eating places within a short walk, so cannot comment on them, did see that the menu was quite small however. We did love the extra touch of small cakes and shortbreads for your use on the hall table as you entered and fresh milk was always provided when required.

Room Tip: Was told to have a room away from the front street area (noise) but generally found the hotel quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    189
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
310
48
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is an excellent "boutique hotel" situated right in the heart of things. Don't be put off by the entry into the building and the security reception there. Once on the 6th floor, you will find yourself in a different world.....a modern, bright ambience with very comfortable,spacious rooms. We found the staff friendly, helpful and anxious to please. The breakfasts and evening meals are very good and the 2/3 course dinners and wine are priced very reasonably. The dining area is fairly small, but we always managed to get a table for two easily.
We would highly recommend Grasshoppers to anyone and would certainly return when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to think of anything negative to say about Grasshopper's. It's as central as it is possible to be and everything about the place is clean and fresh. Check-in is quick and efficient and everyone is friendly and helpful.

The breakfast room might be a cramped affair, but we discovered that if you sit at the table next to the door you don't feel quite so hemmed in! It only took as five stays to discover that.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel advertises itself as a "luxury" hotel but unfortunately failed to deliver properly on the basics. It wasn't clean, the shower had hairs in it, the back of the sliding door was quite dirty (seemed like the bathroom was only ever cleaned with the door open), the kettle was very dusty. It was noisy. I didn't find noise from the station a big issue (although there was some noise), mainly the problem was from within the hotel. We could hear the couple in the next room talking, all the noise from people walking and talking in the corridor, and I was woken every time the loud phone in reception rang (starting from 6am)...Also there was no water in the hotel from 6.30pm until after midnight so we couldn't wash or use the toilet. On enquiring we were told the problem was only with hot water, but we had absolutely no water from either tap and the toilet wouldn't flush. Eventually bottled water was provided but we didn't get any apology even when we asked for a discount the next morning (they did give us a small discount but again no apology for the disruption).
Some other niggles - the "large" double was on the smaller side for a double room - no wardrobe, just two hooks on the wall, tiny bathroom which was in a wooden pod in the room (thin sliding wooden door which didn't offer a lot of privacy), the only place to hang your towel is inside the shower. They advertise the place as having custom-made furniture and I feel this is mainly because the rooms are too small to fit non-fitted furniture.
The whole place is *very* nicely designed and furnished, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was tasty but we didn't see any of the added extras like cakes or shortbread that other reviews mention. The smarties in the room were a nice touch but I wish I had booked the Premier Inn at less than half the price (where I stayed last weekend) and bought my own smarties. At least there I got a good night's sleep and was able to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Owner at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Clearly you did not enjoy your stay. The water board turned off the water without notice to us which was extremely inconvenient for us all. We hate hearing that the room was not properly prepared for your visit and we are embarrassed by this. This rarely happens as you will see from other reviews. We have never had a complaint of noise from other rooms in over 20,000 stays and we will look into this. Our customer service was poor in not recognizing the problems you faced and we should have reacted better and with more generosity. Do call us and we will apologize to you in person and tell you what we have in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

opportunity to stay over as we were attending a party and combined that with my birthday. hubby likes to always find different places for us to stay and this was first class. from the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty, everyone is so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel special.
we opted for the slightly larger room and our view was the rooftop of central station: you would think you'd hear the trains but no, completely silent. the rooms were immaculate and everything you need with nice treats and cakes and refreshments.
bed was very comfy with crisp cotton sheets and towels fluffy. breakfast was delicious, fresh and a homely feel of being in someones kitchen. we didn't stay for dinner but will next time. you will not get ripped off here which makes a great change over the souless, corporate hotels.
staff should be very proud of what they are doing, this is my new favourite and we will definately come back. i hestitated writing this as I wanted to keep it a secret.

Room Tip: recommend upgrade to larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The grasshopper hotel was a great place to stay. The 24 hour staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and fresh. There were cookies and cupcakes there to greet us! A lovely breakfast is served each morning with both hot and cold foods. Location is also great..highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather Roff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I must say that I love this hotel. I am a seasoned traveller and have had all manner of rooms, but this one was perfect for what I needed on this trip: clean, friendly, chic and centrally located. The staff is incredibly helpful and very nice, and the breakfast is great! I am betting that the dinners are equally excellent, but did not have the chance to try them.

Breakfasts: lovely homemade brown bread, a variety of cereals, fruit, yogurt, and some hot items like eggs, sausage and tomatoes. Lovely coffee and juices as well. All and all, quite excellent and included in the price. Double :-)

Rooms: So cute. Each room is different, and done in a european modern motif. I stayed in the one with orange wallpaper. The bed is a little stiff, but if you like firm mattresses, it is great. The room is bright and welcoming, and clean as a whistle. In fact, the whole hotel is very clean and has a nice clean smell throughout. Very, very pleasant. The bathroom is small, but has everything you need. No tub, just a shower, but the shower head has great pressure and is all new and, again, very clean. Each room has tea and a kettle, and if you ask they'll bring you fresh ground coffee and milk (with a shortbread cookie!) Also, I noticed today there are very delicious looking cup cakes when you first enter the lobby... :-)

Staff: very helpful and friendly. I needed to book in early, and they accommodated me with no fuss. I did request this ahead of time, so be polite if you need to do so and I'm sure they will help you out.

Location: If you are traveling by train this is great. It is right next to the main central train station (1 minute walk?), or if you want to be in the city center it is right here as well. I came in for work related things at the University of Glasgow, and that was about a 5-10 minute cab ride to the University (about 5-6 quid one way). There is a taxi stand right around the corner from the hotel, which made flagging one down no problem. You might miss the entrance to the hotel if you aren't looking right. Look for the sign posted up on the side of the building. It is a red flag, and not posted on the small inconspicuous door. The hotel is actually on the 6th floor of the Chambers building, and so not immediately apparent.

Cons: I stayed in a room facing the main street (Union) and it is a bit noisy. If you are looking for absolutely no noise, this is not your place. If you are used to urban traffic noise, no problem. I tune that part out. The only thing that was slightly irritating was the 2-3 AM bar crowd. Last evening there was a variety of rowdy drunk Scotsman doing all manner of things on the street below. It sounded like they were in the room with me, and not 6 floors down. Hoping tonight is better, but doubt it as it is Friday...

I would also say that if you have kids this is probably not the best hotel for you. There is no pool or anything like that, and as the rooms are a bit small, if you need a pack n' play or bassinet or something, it will be a tight squeeze. Also since the bathroom is a bit small, that could also be an issue for a family. But couples and singles would be great, and a friend of mine is staying in another room down the hall so I'd recommend "friends" as well. Also the noise from the street or general location might be a bit much for small kids.

All in all I give it a 4 because of the noise, if there wasn't the noise, it would be a 5. Great hotel for the money, nice little touches (coffee, water, sweets), great breakfast and friendly staff. Plus it smells heavenly.

Room Tip: Ask to be in one of the rooms at the back of the building, not facing the main road. This will help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: 87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a new luxury penthouse hotel with 30 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 30 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood paneled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe’s largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh’s renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.