We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfy, excellent location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really comfy, excellent location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst working in Glasgow. Nicole on reception is just lovely and helpful, the rooms were great, amazingly quiet given its location and the bed so comfortable, I had a great night's sleep. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I got one at the back, suspect they'd be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    175
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
283
44
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay and was pleasantly surprised.
Excellent location, free coffee, free Sky, free cakes and an excellent breakfast the following morning.
Will most definately return should i be in Glasgow again.
Although the rooms were not huge they were cosy and comfortable and most importantly spotless.
Friendly staff.
Overall excellent value for money.
Now i know why the reviews are so good.
Enjoy your stay folks. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Tipperary Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I've just come from a two night stay in the Grasshopper hotel. When making the booking I emailed the hotel with a few small requests, which were replied to immediately and all accommodated. The location is perfect, right in town, and yes, while Union street is busy on a Saturday night, there was no noise to be heard from the station side (apart from distance mumbling from station announcements). The small extra touches, small cakes, decent coffee, sky tv really make this hotel special. The shower was powerful with loads of hot water. Breakfast was great, and served in a lovely room. It's an ideal hotel if arriving by train, but even coming in from the airport, the bus stop is only less than 5 mins.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not a typical hotel - on the 6th floor of an office building, with a small number of rooms and small reception and kitchen/dining area. very friendly, lovely clean comfy room. Good value. Very friendly staff, allowed me early check in. Nice touches - smarties, fresh coffee and milk, water (still and sparkling)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night in December. Perfect sized room, really comfy bed. Loved the complimentary bottled water and packet of smarties on arrival! Having Sky was also a surprise bonus. Staff were excellent and really friendly, our bedroom wasn't ready upon arrival so we were given a gid cup of fresh coffee which was great. Bathroom as a little on the small side and my girlfriend was in a mood because there was no full length mirror provided in the room - typical woman greeting about not being able to see what her dress is like. Breakfast was brilliant and really liked the set-up. Would definitely stay here again and it is in a perfect location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasshoppersglasgow, Manager at Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your review. You may find there was in fact a full length mirror behind the sliding door of the shower room! Check it out on your next visit!

Sean
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for four nights recently and loved this small and friendly hotel. Being just around the corner and two minutes from the Central Station was ideal for someone like me who took the train up to Glasgow for a course which was also around the corner at St Enoch's Square (also a couple of minutes away). St Enoch's is also where the subway is so quite convenient.

The room was adequate in size with big windows, a very comfy bed and fluffy pillows. All in all very clean and nicely bright. Good television with sky too. I particularly loved the shower which gave instant hot water and a full deluge! I can't stand the insipid drizzly showers you get in many other hotels.

I enjoyed the morning breakfasts with nicely presented cereals and yogurts and well cooked full breakfast. The quality of the slightly spicy sausages was excellent and the bacon virtually fat free. It was a sign that the hotel do try to provide quality. I liked the little touches of shortbread and fondant fancies dotted around the hotel too. The friendly staff were always offering to provide fresh ground coffee for the bedroom's cafetiere and fresh milk too. I did like the personal service too as the staff used my name and asked how my time on my course was going. The manager/owner? showed me where a guest lounge was being done out which will make the atmosphere of the hotel even more homely as it will be a place to get away from the confines of a bedroom.

I guess from reading other reviews that I was quite lucky to have a nice room overlooking the pleasantly surreal wave pattern of the rail station glass roof and not on the other side with noisy traffic from the street. What was a little noisy though about my room, 606, was the reception as this was directly outside. I could hear the phone ringing and conversations which in fairness didn't really bother me as it was fairly muted. I did get woken once in the morning though with the reception phone ringing, but a pair of earplugs (provided by the hotel) worked thereafter. I am a light sleeper though and others may have slept through this noise.

Would I stay here again? Well, I am booked back here again in March and I am looking forward to seeing all the staff and staying in what is a delightful and friendly hotel. A thumbs up from me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the station side. Perhaps avoid the rooms closest to the reception though like 60...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Choose this hotel for its central location and proximity to the Airport shuttle bus stop. Hotel was easy to find and our 6th floor window had view of CRM's Lighthouse. The staff were friendly and professional. Our room was modern with everything we needed, hair dryers easily available and fresh coffee, fresh milk and delicious buns on tap! Supper is provided in the 'Kitchen' by Margo and is a must. I would go back for the food alone! Breakfast, everything you could want, and more.
We were visiting the two Universities and the Glasgow School of Art and of course the Style Mile!. All were within easy walking distance except Glasgow Uni but we got the nearby subway to it. The beds were so comfy and cosy I felt I was sleeping in a fluffy meringue!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: 87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a new luxury penthouse hotel with 30 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 30 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood paneled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe’s largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh’s renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.