We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Save Saved
You added Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland (Merchant City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 88 hotels in Glasgow
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. it is very central - right next to the busy shopping area and station. It was beautifully decorated with a seriously comfortable bed and lovely artwork everywhere. In an old building with huge windows and character. Breakfast was healthy and wholesome with lovely bread and a cooked breakfast option. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: we stayed on the station side - there was no train or station noise but apparently the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    134
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
57
219
35
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Staff very friendly and welcoming, nice quality linen and towels and furnishings.nice breads on offer at breakfast along with a decent offer of hot and cold food. Work and scaffolding outside the building makes it easy to miss if you don't know where you are going. Didnt miss not having a phone in room, but didnt know I could ask for fresh coffee,to fill empty cafitiere.great value and location would stay again and recommend to friends,much better than your chain hotels and not much more expensive, well worth the few pounds extra.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I stay away with work on a weekly basis so when it comes to hotels I'm quite picky! I booked last minute not quite sure what to expect but was over the moon with the service. They sorted out my special requirements prior to arrival and emailed me to confirm this and the code for the door. On arrival the lady on reception was polite and personally showed me first where supper was served then to my room which was a nice touch. The room was nice with everything I needed and the sky movies was a nice touch! I went for dinner a little dubious as I'm normally a room service person but must say how fantastically welcoming Margo was. I felt at home and relaxed. Oh and the food was fantastic. I will definitely be back its a hidden gem in Glasgow

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just outside station, perfect location for everything. Very clean room, very helpful staff and fresh cooked breakfast although the breakfast room was a little hot and could have done with being bigger, get there early.
Smarties in the room as expected and when we asked for coffee we were brought some fresh ground coffee and 2 mince pies...nice touch.
There are no telephones in the room so if you want more coffee you have to go out and get it which is not ideal if you have settled for the night or its for early morning. If i were you i would ask for it beforehand just in case.
Would definitely use this hotel again, oh only thing is we stayed at the side looking on to the street and yes it is noisy but what hotel with that location isn't and for us bed to comfy to bother. But if you are unsure stay on side overlooking the railway station.

Room Tip: Stay the side of the hotel that overlooks station and ask for coffee etc in advance. We stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here taking the train to Glasgow on a weekend break. So,so convenient for the station, but no train noise. Hotel and room were modern, comfortable and clean, although the room was a bit small. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The breakfast, served buffet style with full cooked breakfast, was excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were in Glasgow for a family wedding. Being the end of November it was really cold so we were pleasantly surprised how close to the railway station the hotel was which saved us further travelling although we weren't disturbed by trains, announcements etc.
All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.
The rooms were very comfortable and it was nice to be given a choice of which milk we liked rather than those little plastic things with UHT milk in. We also appreciated ground roast coffee instead of instant.
The evening meal Margo made was delicious, as was the breakfast.
If we are ever in Glasgow again we will definitely be staying there and shall be recommending this hotel to our friends

Room Tip: When you arrive ask the staff for some milk and coffee. This wasn't in our room but was provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We Stayed for one night,after a sixties concert,we found the Hotel to be very clean and the Staff very Friendly,nothing was a problem to them.The breakfast was buffet style ,and very good, lots of choice.We will be back again, great for a weekend, very good value for money,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland
Address: 87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a new luxury penthouse hotel with 30 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 30 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood paneled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe’s largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh’s renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.