We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in ideal city centre location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Save Saved
You added Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel in ideal city centre location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here Friday 16 Nov for 3 nights. Couldn't believe how easy it was to find. Turn right out of Central Stn, and, bingo!, 30 secs later you're there. It's a boutique-style hotel on the 6th floor of an office block and features plenty of nice touches. Reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout. We had a large double, which was reasonably sized, not huge but more than ok. There is no bar but you can buy bottles or glasses of wine. Breakfast is excellent, it's served by very friendly staff in a diner-style kitchen. Great choice of cereals, fruit, lovely bread and hot breakfast. The hotel's location is key, though, excellent for bars, shopping, tourist attractions, everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    158
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
254
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

dont normally do reviews, but this hotel was just too good not to

very handy a few moments from the railway station
pleasant welcome and the friendliness of staff continued throughout our stay
rooms fairly small, but fine for our short break, but spotless and bed very comfortable
great shower
breakfast was excellent too


cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Interesting hotel which because of the lack of reception/lounge areas felt more like a bed and breakfast establishment, especially so in the morning where it was mostly communal dining. Breakfast was excellent and the ladies even made porridge to order with cream and honey. Everything was fresh and plentiful and very enjoyable. The bedroom was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Neither was large but the bedroom still could have accommodated another chair or a stool as there was only one there. Tea/cafetiere and French Fancies was a nice touch, as well as the water and Smarties but only one person could sit to enjoy this. To operate the television a certain button on the remote needed to be pressed first but there were no instructions in the room and no phone so we had to find someone to ask for help. As the answer was so readily forthcoming I think this must be a commonly asked question. All things considered we had an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booking a three person room, and it was a really a room for three person , it was a large room with two large beds,a double bed and a single bed. It wasn't a normal room with a auxiliar little bed. Cleaness was very good and dressed with care. In the room was a little kettle for tea and every day the staff put into the room some delicatessen: mineral water, smarties, kitkat..
In the room there was TV with Sky and free Wifi.
Bath was vey clean and with a apropiate size hot water without any problem.
Buffet breakfast was very good and generous and the staff very kind and hepful. Beakfast room a bit small.
Hotel interior decoration is minimalist and very nice.
I think only problem is into the room there wasn´t a wardrobe to hold the clothes.
If we return to Glasgow we will repeat in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I don't usually do online reviews, but was so impressed with the Grasshoppers Hotel I thought I'd make an exception.

Like some other reviews, we were staying two nights for the weekend to see a gig at the SECC, and chose to stay here.

The fact that it occupies the 6th floor means there's no foyer or reception as such, but the benefit is that everything's on the 6th floor and has a skyline view - which is a lovely skyline in my opinion.

Very smart, modern and excellent rooms. Lovely original artwork and prints on the walls, rather than generic, wall filling tat, very friendly staff, a great vibe, excellent breakfasts all included, can't fault the place at all.

Perfectly central, excellent value. If we go to Glasgow again, and we hope to, then we'd definitely stay here again and I think that's the best review you can get.

Thanks to all the staff for a great weekend!

Room Tip: All 6th floor, all good as far as I know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We checked in here just for the one night while in Glasgow for a show. The Hotel is in a great location beside the station and the shops. On arrival the receptionist was really friendly and showed us where breakfast would be and to our room.
The rooms are small but they have everything you need for a short stay and were very clean. The complimentary smarties and bottled water were a nice touch. As is having Sky tv in the room.

The bed was comfortable and the quilt amazing although feather pillows are not for everyone! Breakfast was really good, with a varied choice that is constantly replenished and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

Our only complaint was the street noise meant we got little sleep! Although six floors up the windows are not double glazed and the traffic can be heard quite clearly. Unfortunately for us we also picked a night for a big football game and so the singing and shouting from fans could be heard until well after 4am from the local pubs and clubs.

We definetly would stay here again, it's great value for money and would recommend it to all but would say request a room on the station side and not facing down on to Union St.

Room Tip: Avoid Union St. facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here for 2 nights. We had a show at the SECC and this hotel was the perfect location, literally a few steps from the central station and only £3.00 return on the train for both of us to get to SECC.

The rooms were quite small but the shower was excellent, the bed was very comfortable and we got a good peaceful sleep with no traffic noise. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was really good. Parking only cost £6 per day. What more do you need for a city break!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow

Address: 87 Union Street, Caledonian Chambers, Glasgow G1 3TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasshoppers Hotel at Glasgow Central Station - a new luxury penthouse hotel with 30 individual bedrooms offering style, comfort and service at affordable prices in Glasgow City Centre. A hotel for individuals where each stylish bedroom has free Wi-Fi, 32" HD televisions together with its own SKY HD PLUS BOX with sky sports and movies. Enjoy Grasshopper treats with tea, coffee and cakes upon arrival. Relax and enjoy yourself at Grasshoppers, a home when you are away from home. At Grasshoppers Glasgow you'll find a penthouse floor of 30 individual bedrooms with a blend of traditional and contemporary features that include sliding sash windows, wood paneled walls, handmade wallpapers, Caledonian Oak floors and furniture that has been exclusively designed and made for Grasshoppers by specialist joiners. Our stylish, comfortable bedrooms enjoy plenty of natural light with great views across Europe’s largest glazed roof over Central Station or towards the Merchant City, including Mackintosh’s renowned Lighthouse Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.