We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent youth hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glasgow Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Glasgow Youth Hostel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent youth hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location overlooking the park in a lovely big rambling building a 15 minute walk from the town centre and a cheap taxi ride from the station. Super friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in a women's dorm and then a private twin and both were great, with en suite bathroom. Private is worth the extra cost if you are travelling with a friend.

One drawback was that it got hot in the rooms and as the windows only open a few inches, there was little that could be done to let the night air in. This would only be a problem in hot weather. Also, no lifts, so be prepared to carry suitcases up the stairs.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The twin private rooms are exceptionally nice for a hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
17
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Not for anyone who is infit or has a disability with stairs. Rooms are on 3 different levels and no lift. The kitchen is downstairs in a basement with very bad ventilation & hardly any bench space for preparing food if more than 2 people in kitchen, also a fire trap. Our private room stunk so bad, the beds are old and uncomfortable, its not so cheap. If you're on the 1st or 2nd floor you have a long climb up and down the stairs just to make a cuppa. Forget it if you're on the 3 rd floor. The reviews here are misleading. The only good thing i can say about this hostel is the staff, who couldnt be more helpfull, they were great. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere clean!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroxall, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A comfortable hostel & secure storage for my bike. The staff were helpful & friendly and the building itself is grand and opulent. The dorm I was in wasn't overcrowded like some of the Independent hostels I've stayed in, it also had an en-suite shower and toilet. The cooked breakfast was excellent and substantial but slightly overpriced. The hostel is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Everything from the decor to the friendliness of the staff is meant to be appreciated here.The difference between the YHA/HI hostels and the others is that the others do just about everything and the YHA hostels trump them simply with their ambience,organisational abilities and most importantly breakfast spreads.On the other hand,the other hostels ,I guess are just a tad more vibrant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Glasgow Youth Hostel is a fabulous building and the SYHA seems to make the most of it. The site is really fantastic, out of the city centre and high above Kelvingrove Park. All you need is a decent pair of shoes to walk into town and see the architectural heritage of this great city.

The staff were really helpful with information and directions. The eight-bedded room was probably a bit crowded but this is understandable in the summer. My only problem was the breakfast - no healthy bread or plain yogurt - but there was plenty for the bikers and hikers and that's what hostelling is all about. A really good hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a bit outside of town so I would suggest if you want to be in the middle of town you stay somewhere closer to the city centre. However, we found that the west end was fairly close to all the things we wanted to do (Glosgow Uni, Park, Museums etc) and there was heaps of funky places to chill out. It’s located in one of the nicest areas in Glasgow and the place is massive. We stayed on the third floor facing the park and had a really nice view over the city (you don’t normally get that in a hostel). The staff were ok and fairly helpful. The rooms and facilities were as you would expect. However, we didn’t try the breakfast as we thought it was a bit overpriced. We would definitely stay here again next time we go to Glasgow.

Room Tip: I would advise that you ask for a top room floor with a view over the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here fo an overnight whilst seeing a gig at Hamden Park.

Great location with great parking facilities and the walk into the centre is 20-30 minutes which is great to get yourself orientated.

The private room we had was fine, just right for what we needed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Park Terrace, Glasgow G3 6BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic and cosmopolitan West End of Scotland’s largest city, we offer great value, quality accommodation. Awarded 4 stars by Visit Scotland our Youth Hostel is perfect for independent travellers, families and groups and is the ideal base from which to explore Glasgow’s famous art galleries, glorious architecture, friendly culture, shopping and fantastic nightlife. The Youth Hostel is located in an impressive architectural area and nowhere is this more apparent than in our grand main hallway and staircase. We believe we have created a seamless blend of old and new, with ensuite bedrooms, internet access and excellent catered and self catering facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Glasgow Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Youth Hostel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.