We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, central and good for a short stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Glasgow Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Glasgow Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-11 Hill Street, Glasgow G3 6RP, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, central and good for a short stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I always use this Travelodge when visiting Glasgow as I'm normally just staying the one night and going to a gig or for a night out.
Excellent location for shopping and night life.
Very basic but comfy enough. Always different staff but friendly and helpful enough.
Bar is cheap for drinks and food. Check in is always quick and convenient.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very spacious. Rooms facing Sauchiehall street don't tend to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    66
    38
    18
    11
See reviews for
24
63
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Scotland. It is typical of Travelodge. Very basic but comfortable bed and good hot showers. Breakfast needs to be avoided at all costs. Horrible coffee, powdered eggs and soggy croissants. It suited our purposes but I wouldn't stay here for any lengthier period of time

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Good
Clean, comfy bed, good location

Bad
Very cold room. Heater provided ineffective and was noisy. Poor quality towels I have thicker tea towels at home. Poor quality decor. Thin walls meaning every noise heard.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatetiger66
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Booked two months in advance £93 for four nights..bargain. Our first visit to Glasgow. Easy walk from central train station. Not far behind Dunne's Stores on Sauchiehall Street. Check in was friendly and quick. We were given a street map and 2 swipe card keys. I asked for a room on a high floor to get away from street noise. Extra loo rolls given on request which helped my 'running out' phobia.
Our room on the 7th floor was small but clean and nicely decorated. The rubbish view was of buildings and carparks. The TV remote made husband happy. Didn't eat in find it expensive. We used Tesco & Pondland near by to get porridge pots and cereal bars. Lots of Wetherspoons for cheap meals and beer.
We slept well in the comfy bed and only heard a little noise from the lift and closing bedroom doors. The bath was tiny but we are a tall couple. The shower water pressure went off a couple of times. Used the wall heater when it got a bit nippy. Could do with plug sockets at the sides of bed for phone charging. Good job there were two lifts as one lift had broken buttons for 5 days. . Had four fun days exploring Glasgow with our £4 First bus day tickets and would use this Travelodge again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

It is a typical Travelodge, basic room with limited amenities - however the bed was incredibly comfortable (they give you the option to buy the mattress and I would seriously consider it!) However I would strongly suggest you go elsewhere for breakfast. Choice was limited - look carefully at what is pictured/advertised as what you see is all you get.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The new look has made this a very acceptable place to stay for a few nights, 3 in my case. OK the artex is still in abundance, but it's been softened by better painting and new colourways. The new beds are superb as are the pillows, just a shame the duvet is so thin as to require the heating be left on overnight to keep you warm. Just LOVE the new faux leather red chairs in the bedrooms, never before have Travelodge provided chairs you actually WANT to sit on for any length of time - I want one for home!! Lots of cheery and helpful staff around when you need them. Breakfast offer and room most acceptable. Just decline any of the 4 rooms in the short corridor next to the lifts on all floors - the call buttons have a very strident ping when activated and this all too clearly heard in these rooms, as are the automated "lift going up etc" announcements from within the lifts when they arrive and the doors open.

Room Tip: Not near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Standard hotel - does what it needs to do and not much more. Quite far from the centre of Glasgow - about a 10 minute walk. Used self service check in as receptionists looked too busy. Room was really small (we booked a family as we were meant to have 3 in our party) with not a lot of room between the single beds and double. Bathroom was sufficient. Not good soundproofing - neighbours were extremely loud and doors had a tendency to bang. Our window seemed to rattle when it was windy outside but wasn't too bad. Pillows were uncomfortable and my friend had trouble sleeping. However overall it was a good stay but I probably would choose elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glasgow Central

Address: 5-11 Hill Street, Glasgow G3 6RP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Glasgow Central 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glasgow Central Hotel Glasgow
Travel Lodge Glasgow
Glasgow Travelodge
Glasgow Travel Lodge
Travelodge Glasgow Central Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Glasgow Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.