We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cathedral House Hotel to your Saves list
Cathedral House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28-32 Cathedral Square | High Street rail, then 2(A), 37 buses, Glasgow G4 0XA , Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Enjoyed a truly wonderful stay, sadly only one night - would have loved a month. Great location, minutes from city centre yet in a wee world of its own at the same time. Super views from room which was lovely, warm comfortable. Majestic bed, big bathroom, good tv, sofa etc. Food very well priced, soup, steak (beef), kangaroo steak and pudding all very yum, Staff all very polite and helpful, well done to you all. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    50
    26
    22
    30
See reviews for
28
83
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We were very pleased with the Cathedral House Hotel. Good location, you can walk to the city center. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great filling Scottish breakfast in the morning, plus you an get dinner and drinks at the bar. Rooms were clean and nice, some with great views. We will definitely go back.

Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

My partner and I loved staying in this little hotel. It is full of character, our room had gorgeous views overlooking the Cathedral and the Necropolis. Staff were very friendly and service was superb.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

The Cathedral House looks like a small castle from the outside. There is a restaurant & bar on the first floor, the breakfast and catering room on the second floor and bed rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors. The restaurant and bar were quiet but even if they weren't the 2nd floor would have buffered the sound. The Cathedral house is directly south of the Glasgow Cathedral. On east side is the necropolis, on the west side a small park and the south side a large attractive building that was empty at night. This made for a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood. And yet it was only a few blocks from the sites and town hall.

The rooms were large and spacious with a comfortable bed. We had a 5 sided corner room with a great view of the cathedral and the park next door. A comfortable sitting chair wouldn't go a miss and the bath room while being in good shape could have used more counter space. These are not complaints, as we loved the room, just observations.

The staff was very friendly even when busy. We dropped our bags off during the morning breakfast and they kept them for us until we returned to check in later that day.

The breakfast was great with a full Scottish option or continental breakfast with cereals, orange juice and fruit.

Potential considerations are the lack of a lift (didn't bother us), no air conditioning (welcome to Scotland, nobody has ac), and a slight busy road that you can't hear with the windows closed. The traffic quieted down as the evening progressed.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stuart the new manager made us feel really welcome; we requested a room with a view of the Cathedral and Necropolis which he arranged. The staff were really helpful nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The full Scottish breakfasts were fab. It’s a really interesting hotel, if you like history or a haunted location this is the place for you. It’s handy for sightseeing. The bar is great, as is the bar food. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

My visit to Glasgow was for business in the City Centre and it was for a one night stay on Tuesday 27th January 2009. As usual it was a review of a few hotels the day before and a look of hotel reviews on TripAdvisor. I looked at some 8 hotels and did choose Cathedral House Hotel, for the following reasons:

- Good location just off main Motorway and with private parking. (There is also metre parking around the hotel for 4hrs @ 72 per hour and long terms car parks near at hand.)
- In Merchant City and a half mile from City Centre.
- Very competitive B&B price.
- Unique property with interesting history.
- Small 8 bedded hotel with good facilities.

The welcome was good with no form filling or swipes of credit cards. My room was warm, (I did turn down the heating), adequately furnished with a comfortable bed. The hotel was busy with locals, which is a good sign, and there was a choice of newspapers to read which I always like. Breakfast in the morning was good with personal attention. Check out was quick and your car was immediatly outside in a private carpark. The hotel in now run by Nigel and Stuart, (new owners), and they "hail" from Australia - give them a try. I enjoyed my short visit to this great city.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

A little gem of a hotel which had a great energy to it. I stayed in the Cathedral room, which was gorgeously quirky. I would definitely return here, as I liked the dark panelled wood, curving staircase, the studious elegant dining room with it's masculine feel. You don't see a hotel like this very often and I will recommend it to friends who enjoy the experience of surprise.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square | High Street rail, then 2(A), 37 buses, Glasgow G4 0XA , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.