We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cathedral House - not so scary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cathedral House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28-32 Cathedral Square | High Street rail, then 2(A), 37 buses, Glasgow G4 0XA , Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cathedral House - not so scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked rooms at the Cathedral House Hotel in Glasgow hoping for some paranormal activity; however, we were pleasantly surprised in the end as it was a lovely hotel with really nice, clean rooms, and no ghostly encounters for myself, anyway. My daughter; however, did say her toothbrush jumped out of the holder and on to the floor, witness by her sister, but who knows, right? The restaurant/bar was great as well, friendly, accommodating staff, food was great, atmosphere was awesome. Our room overlooked the Metropolis, so that added to the gothicness of the atmosphere. Loved it, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the Cathedral room, overlooks the Metropolis. large and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    25
    18
    27
See reviews for
27
77
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Office night out at Cathedral House Hotel incorporating 3 course meal and drinks plus a murder mystery performance played out by Spirit of Glasgow surrounding the Madeleine Smith case from 150 years ago in Glasgow....excellent fun, excellent food, fabulous venue for such an occasion

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a lovely time we had staying at this quaint, lovely little place. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were delightful and comfortable and the view of the Cathedral from one of our rooms just added to the 'medieval atmosphere'. The food was great. I loved the porridge for breakfast. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious and hand made. The meals at the pub were great. Thank you Cathedral House and staff for making our stay in Glasgow a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed her for 2 nights with a colleague as we were down to Glasgow for a work course. We each had a twin room. Arrived at 9pm to find the rooms unbearably hot so immediately opened the windows. This did not help as no air came in, the mattress on bed was also not comfortable which did not help. The walls in the hotel are paper thin so you can hear everything. My colleague was at the other side of the corridor from me but we could have a conversation whilest lying in our beds it was that bad. So needless to say we hardly slept a wink for the 2 nights.

The full English breakfast was lovely but on day 2 i decided to be good and opted for the porridge, what a terrible decision - the porridge smelt and tasted like cheese!!! I did not eat and just had a bowl of bran flakes and a banana instead (bran flakes were soft as were sitting out in an open bowl)

Evening meal at the hotel was Macaroni, chips and salad and was lovely. Waitress did not know how to smile, huffed at us when we asked for a few more minutes as we were not ready to order. She was also the waitress for the 2nd day breakfast and failed to serve us tea and toast which is meant to put out for all guests.

Overall terrible stay at this hotel, would not recommend for anyone who does not like heat and is a light sleeper (you will get no sleep). Only positive was the cleaner who was very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I arrived at Cathedral House Hotel a bit early for check-in, but was greeted with a warm smile anyway and hotel staff kindly held on to my luggage so I could leisurely check out Glasgow, city center being merely walking distance away, without carrying my bags.
Upon check-in, I found the hotel very quaint with an old-fashioned charm preserved with the age of the building, but it still had all the modern amenities to enhance comfort and convenience. My room was very large and cozy, the windows providing a breathtaking direct view of the Glasgow Cathedral. The first floor had a bar and restaurant open to hotel customers and the public that had a classy ambiance, good food, and an even better beer list, while the second floor had the art-clad breakfast restaurant open to patrons in which a freshly-cooked meal could start out your day. Cathedral House Hotel is quite a lot smaller than an average hotel, so the staff are few, but one gets that friendly, individualized attention that makes you feel right at home, unlike what you get in most larger chain hotels.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow, and I plan to reserve a room there again should I make another trip to Glasgow. It is walking distance to the city center, but still in a quiet neighborhood, is in a charming building with unique architecture and great views of nearby historical sites, serves great food and drinks, and employs staff who are all very helpful, accommodating, and help create a customer-centered atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for a unique spot, stay here. A beautiful late 1800s baronial style building with a stone interior spiral staircase. The rooms are stylish and comfortable with amazing views. The bistro-style bar downstairs offers a great selection of wine, beer and spirits. The food is truly fresh and delicious - try the Haggis bites in a whisky sauce! Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room - the oatmeal was the best I have ever had. The staff are dedicated to making your stay memorable. Such a warm and friendly bunch. I highly recommend this hotel. ( No elevator so take note if you have mobility issues)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We didn't stay at hotel (although kind of wish we did) but did have a great meal in their restaurant. The steak and ale pie was the best all trip and the deep fried haggis was tasty. The bar had nice ambience (classic and lived in not flashy) and out waiter/bar tender was excellent. Great location near Glasgow Cathedral, Provand's Lordship, Necropolis and St. Mungo's Museum which made for an enjoyable (and totally free) day of sightseeing. Would definitely go back if I had the chance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square | High Street rail, then 2(A), 37 buses, Glasgow G4 0XA , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.