We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cathedral House Hotel to your Saves list
Cathedral House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28-32 Cathedral Square | High Street rail, then 2(A), 37 buses, Glasgow G4 0XA , Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Cathedral house B&B is really more like a boutique hotel. The room was huge and included a couch, closet and other nice furnishings. The bathroom was also very large and had a bathtub (rare in European B&Bs). Towels were nice and thick – not like the threadbare ones you often find.

The central area of Glasgow is a short 10 minute walk away. The Glasgow Cathedral is across the street, as is the Necropolis. Glasgow has a very simple (and tiny) subway system that gets you around the city. The Cathedral house has a pub on the ground floor. We were expecting "pub-food" but were pleasantly surprised at the varied and eclectic menu. We ate in the pub both nights rather than walking into town. Breakfast was hot, delicious and "made-to-order". We liked everything about the Cathedral House!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    26
    22
    32
See reviews for
29
87
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed at this hotel Sept. 9 to 13. Rooms are basic but comfortable and include all the necessities. Our room had 2 huge windows that opened and overlooked the park across the street. Yes there are a lot of stairs but this just adds to the unique charm of this hotel, and face it you need the exercise. We ate at the restaurant several times and always thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu had a varied selection for everyone's taste, and the food always arrived piping hot (via a dumb waiter even!!!), and was delicious every time. We made several trips down to the restaurant just to enjoy the coffee, espresso and cappucchino (best coffee that we have ever had!!!). Many thanks to Simon and everyone else at the hotel and restaurant for making this a memorable stay for us.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My partner and I had lunch here on Saturday the 10th of September and it was so good we went back for Sunday lunch the following day. We had lunch in the bar and the food was absolutely wonderful, no complaints whatsoever. The young man behind the bar who took our order and served us on both days could not have been nicer or more helpful. The prices are excellent, very reasonable and superb value for money. It really is well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed there from August 12 - 17th and had a great time. We were fortunate enough to get the Cathedral room and it was perfect. We were overlooking the Cathedral and graveyard etc, magnificent views. All staff was friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast their every morning and they would cook you what ever you wanted, porridge and cream was outstanding. We also had 2 dinners at the bar and was very happy with what was served. As we were from Canada this is exactly what we wanted and if I return to the beautiful city of Glasgow, I would stay there again. Beaudry's

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We popped in here just gone 11am after visiting the cathedral, desperate for a brew and some breakfast. Even though the kitchen wasn't open yet the lovely man behind the bar made us a delicious egg muffin (we're veggie, he did offer bacon too though!) and a wonderful cup of tea. Then he helped us with our bus route and gave us the right change for it. You don't get service like that in many places, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Having lived abroad for 6 years now I travel back to Scotland once or twice a year to visit friends, this often includes a few days in a hotel. Very used to the inn, lodge and other chain establishments I decided to look for somewhere different to stay on my last trip and am pleased to say I found this little gem.

Steeped in character and surrounded by the history of Glasgow this unique hotel is treat for those fortunate enough to find it.

The location is amazing, the history of Glasgow surrounds you, the hotel is quaint and interesting. No lift and a very old staircase but easy to climb and everything about it has a story to tell.

Okay, my room was lovely, ensuite (think they all are) and spotless, with the most amazing views. In the morning my breakfast was everything a traditional one should be and included haggis !!!! In the lounge bar I found a great mix of friendly locals more than happy to share there knowledge of the area and tourists enjoying food in a 3 level dining area. I enjoyed two evening meals which included beef burger made with red wine and steak pie to die for.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, In fact nothing was a problem for them. This means a lot when you are a single woman staying on your own. Which included pointing me to the bus stop for the 3 min trip to the city centre and giving me my bus fare because I didnt have any change !!!!.

Will I returm, do you no I am going to make a point of it, So much around this area I didnt get to see. And the shopping is fab.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in the hotel. Our room had a wonderful view of the Cathedral and the Necropolis, and was spacious and nicely decorated. The neighborhood is quiet - no restaurants or bars around except the ones in the hotel itself - so not much traffic at night. The location is perfect for touring the Cathedral, Necropolis, St. Mungo's Museum, and Provand's Lordship; also there's a "Hop On/Hop Off" bus tour stop right in front of the hotel so it's easy to use that to reach other tourist destinations. Can't wait to stay there again. One caution - there is NO elevator/lift and lots of stairs so make sure you can negotiate that - the lowest hotel room is 3 flights up from the bar. Check-in is at the bar; there is an additional keyed entrance at a different "ground level" (it's on a hill) so you can save a few steps after you're checked in. We enjoyed the bar cafe too - nice food and good service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square | High Street rail, then 2(A), 37 buses, Glasgow G4 0XA , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.