We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern grandeur in Glasgow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Glasgow to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Gortahork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern grandeur in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Yes! Yes! Yes! A hotel that I truely love!
Arrived at the Indigo late on a Sunday, shattered after a long ardous journey from the isles. I'd a sense of elation on entering the hotel. Tasteful, warm, inviting, atmospheric; a kind of modern grandeur; a hotel with its own unique identity. The room was equally inviting: subtley lit, comfortable, a huge comfortable bed, a good table to work at and a great TV! The hotel has a hushed, calm atmosphere which I liked (maybe it is not like this all the time?). I can't comment on all aspects of the hotel as I just had barfood and a drink and retired to the room. Service was efficient, the staff were friendly and the atmosphere pleasant. I got a good deal, but it looks like it can be pricey. Its very handy, only 5 minutes from central station. Will definately stay again with my partner, as it would be a good place for a couple and will check it out next time I'm in Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    406
    106
    16
    5
See reviews for
185
687
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed for one night here and found it to be a very good hotel with lovely dining room and good breakfast. Great location, surprisingly quiet and with discounted parking at a close car park. Enjoyed the rain shower. Would stay here again if coming to Glasgow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night here enroute to the Lakes District from Fort William. We were very disappointed with the service, particularly from the front of house staff, who were mostly ambivalent with little desire to be of service. We were traveling with 2 children so had requested in advance inter-connecting rooms or, failing that, rooms next to eachother. I had had an email exchange with the hotel some time prior to our arrival where the adjacent rooms had been agreed. Sadly, when we arrived our rooms were some distance apart. The rooms themselves are very nicely decorated with great amenities and one of our rooms had great views over the Main Street. The bar downstairs had good atmosphere and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful.

We arrived on arguably one of the hottest days of the year so were very upset to find the air conditioning in our room not working. After multiple calls downstairs and a face to face conversation, it turned out that a number of people were having problems. Although I accept that this was outside the hotel's control, it was the complete lack of concern or interest that troubled me the most. I was told that they could try a room change but thought it was too difficult as the hotel was fully booked. My husband later asked if there were any fans but was told they were all out. We felt a bit like our being there was rather inconvenient and if we could stop troubling them that would be great.

Perhaps we were spoiled at our previous two stop overs but I would certainly look at alternatives if we're back in Glasgow. The Indigo is not a huge hotel but is large enough to expect trolley service for your luggage (none was available and we had to carry our bags to our rooms ourselves) and more convenient parking arrangements (the car park is close on foot but because of the road arrangements it requires driving around several large blocks to load and unload the car).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your positive review of Hotel Indigo. I was disappointed to read your comment regarding the levels of service offered. Hotel Indigo as a brand does not offer a bespoke concierge service or a car valet option. Please accept our apologies if you felt the staff were less than accommodating, we do try out hardest to look after all our guests and ensure they have a very memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We came to this hotel with high expectations after a long drive. We were ready to relax. When we got here we realised that there was no valet parking and no trolley to take our bags up. Luckily, they gave us someone to help but all that person did was move our bags into the foyer. We had to transport them upstairs in the lifts ourselves!!! Also, NO valet parking! At a hotel like this located in a busy city one expects they are going to get valet parking! This was a pain as it meant that we didn't have enough people to move the bags as one of us had to move the car! We went upstairs to our room and they were nice with a good view. The art deco was very modern and the bathrooms were clean and reasonably sized. But sadly there was another problem. Unfortunately, our air- conditioning was not working- this is not the hotels fault of course but when we went to see the staff they honestly acted as if they couldn't care less. Also, we requested inter connecting rooms and we didn't even get rooms next to each other. We then went downstairs for dinner and the restaurant was closed so we had to order of the bar menu. This was still an okay menu and the food was quite good. Overall, this was not a fantastic place, what really let them down was the terrible service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your very positive review of Hotel Indigo. I was disappointed to read your comment regarding the levels of service offered. Hotel Indigo as a brand does not offer a bespoke concierge service or a car valet option. Please accept our apologies if you felt the staff were less than accommodating, we do try out hardest to look afetr allour guests and ensure they have a very memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel jet lagged and in desperate need of a nap to find that they had no record of our reservation. Notwithstanding that they were not expecting us, when we showed the Front Desk manager, Colm, our confirmation from the travel agent, he did not hesistate for a minute to get us checked in. Not only that, but because they did not have the double room that we booked, he gave us each a single room. Turns out that the travel agent booked us to arrive July 29, rather than June 29, but he never hesitated to accomodate us and deal with the problem later. This interaction was carried out throughout our stay. The staff was absolutely lovely, especially Cher at the front desk, and anything we needed was taken care of quickly and with a smile. The room was equally nice. It was comfortable, well decorated and the bathroom was large. Most importantly, the bed was incredibly comfortable. Hotel is well located, with an easy walk to the rain statin and central city. If i am nit picking, the breakfast was not up to the same standards. Very limited and, I know the UK is tea country, but coffee was awful. Overall, i would stay there over and overr again for the faciities, but more so for the friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you found Colm to be most accommodating in sorting out your travel agents error and that we were able to turn around, what could have been, a disaster for you into such a positive experience. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in June for one night. Clean room, good shower and comfy bed. Helpful reception staff. Located within easy walking distance to downtown Glasgow. Enjoyed the stay and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo for one night after arriving in the UK from the US. We arrived at 11:30 in the morning, and our room was not ready yet so they stored our luggage and had us wait in their bar area, serving us complimentary coffee. Thirty minutes later we were shown to our room. The room was perfectly fine, quiet and had a complimentary well-stocked mini-fridge which we enjoyed and appreciated. The concierge was most helpful and was happy to tell us where to go for meals and other things. We would stay again if returning to Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post your wonderful review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.