We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Glasgow to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Did an overnight DBB and we were very disappointed. Room itself was good, hanging space very limited so pleased it was only for one night. My husband ordered a Sirloin steak and it was inedible due to the amount of gristle, after complaining the Chef advised that his meat supplier was not the best!!!! We did have the steak and drinks wiped from our bill, but it did spoil our evening, I am pleased to say that breakfast was very good though. We will not be back again will go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are veryquiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your steak. It is rare that we get negative feedback regarding our meat supply and we will certainly keep a very close eye on the quality of the beef. I am glad that our staff recognised your disappointment by removing the charge and sincerely hope that this effort will give you confidence in our desire to keep all our guests happy. We hope that you would not let this deter you from staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    403
    106
    16
    5
See reviews for
185
684
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

One of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed at - ever!
Combination of excellent facilities and very helpful/cheerful staff made our stay highly enjoyable. It is located well for both central and west end locations if you are happy to walk for 10-20 mins or easy access for buses and taxis.
I can understand the comments about the breakfast but I have paid more and enjoyed worse in the past so it was not a huge negative for us. Part of our deal included dinner on one night which was pretty good - recommend the Thai curry mussels, and the drinks prices are really good value for a hotel which was surprising.
Would be happy to recommend to friends and would certainly stay here again when in Glasgow.

If you are driving and are visiting at the weekend, on street parking is free from Saturday 6pm to 8am Monday morning so no need to pay for the car park across the road

Room Tip: We had an executive room on 2nd floor on the main street - but sound proofing meant we were not dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is a short ( few minutes ) walk into the heart of Glasgow and has super friendly and kind front desk staff. They were cheerful , helpful and made us feel really welcome even through we were just there for a night ! The beds were really comfortable and everything was spotless. The breakfast room looked a little tired and to be honest not very exciting... but adequate I suppose. ( I went elsewhere as I wasn't inspired!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are always very grateful for all the feedback from our guests and appreciate all the constructive comments that we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night due to attending a concert.
The hotel is lovely. Great location and nice rooms.
However the breakfast was very poor. When we arrived for breakfast we were told it was busy and to take a seat in the bar area. Unfortunately the member of staff did not seem to have a list of who was next for a table which resulted in people being taken before us who had arrived after us. We were eventually given a table and the breakfast menu. The member of staff said he would return to take our food and tea/coffee order. After 15 minutes we had to ask a member of staff to take our order.
All the food at the buffet was really low and needed replenished. There was also a lack of plates and bowls.
A disappointing finish to an excellent trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear lobbylou_9,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you liked our property including the location and rooms. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation specifically with breakfast. Kindly be assured that all your comments are being reviewed by the management actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Glasgow.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is excellent. From the extremely clean, well laid out rooms to the exceptional friendly staff. We stayed one night on way up to Fort William and one night on the way back. We ate in the restaurant and the meals we had were excellent. If we were to come back to Glasgow we would certainly stay at the Indigo (even if only for the beautiful shower in the bathroom!!!)

Room Tip: Even though we were at the front of the hotel we did not experience any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review of Hotel Indigo. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay so much and we really appreciate your recommendation. We hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A big fan of the boutique style of Indigo and this one does not disappoint on that front. Great modern colourful hotel with mainly good staff (very friendly barman). In a good location, close enough to all the bars, restaurants and shops Glasgow has to offer but very quiet; our room was at the back of the hotel and there was no noise at all from outside or from fellow guests. As a family room we had 2 Queen sized beds which was good.

It is a shame you have to pay for parking at the car park next door (other nearby hotels have onsite free parking); wi-fi connection (free) was a bit hit and miss.

The real let down was breakfast both from a service and food perspective. First of all we sat for 20 minutes without any order for tea or coffee being taken and, even then, that only changed when we went to find someone (and it wasn't that busy). The cooked breakfast was also mainly bland tasting and very greasy so that whole experience was poor.

They should probably pay a bit more attention to both service and food quality at breakfast in order to keep their number 1 rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay will certainly use your very constructive feedback to improve our consistency. We hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambouillet, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Indigo Hotel during a congress in Glasgow. The hotel is very conveniently located in the city center. I’ve got a large room, with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom is also nice, with modern equipment. So it would be perfect in its price categories with some improvement on the Wifi (very low signal in my room, connection almost impossible), and more important the breakfast. There are two options: continental buffet or breakfast menu. First day, I arrived at the rush hour, got a table, but could not be get coffee in the time that I had, the buffet was about emptied. 2nd day was better in term of service, and I tried the Scottish breakfast; not a good choice as extremely greasy. Third day I tried the buffet: small selection of ham, no plates next to the buffet, only two croissant left… There is an obviously need to enlarge the staff, and get a better work organisation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Glasgow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay will certainly use your very constructive feedback to improve our consistency. We hope that we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Glasgow

Address: 75 Waterloo Street, Glasgow G2 7DA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Glasgow, is an exciting modernization and re-creation of a beautiful Victorian historic building right in the heart of the Glasgow financial services district. Refreshingly different, inspirational and intriguing, this inviting Glasgow hotel has 94 bedrooms with the ultimate business communication facilities and the latest luxury hotel room comforts. With Egyptian cotton linen, luxury toiletries and soft towels with invigorating rain fall showers, the bedrooms are a haven from the bustle of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.