We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast. Expensive for drinks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Louis Cafe Bar

St Louis Cafe Bar
734 Dumbarton Road, Glasgow, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast. Expensive for drinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

For the Glasgow-literate; think Cottiers bar meets TriBeCa, with a wee hint of Mono. Meaning; they have good but expensive beer, do a decent breakfast and have some live music.
Good points: music, friendly staff, boardgames, good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    51
    25
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food spoiled by no service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food is consistently outstanding, but the service has slipped badly over the last few months. My most recent visit was during the day on a holiday weekend when the place was empty except for another couple. The orders were taken quickly, and the food arrived quickly, but that was the end of the service. No more drinks were offered, dirty plates weren't cleared, and eventually about 30 mins after the meal was finished, we gave up on ordering more drinks and went to the bar and paid, but only once the staff had finished their conversation. A real shame, because I used to love this place, and the food is great. It's just not great enough to justify the woeful service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stlouiscafebar734, Owner at St Louis Cafe Bar, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We take your comments very seriously and have arranged staff training sessions to address the problems you experienced at the cafe on your visit. There is no excuse for poor service and can only apologize and assure you that we will be doing all we can to make sure that our customer service is excellent at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I first discovered this cafe in 2011 and it quickly became a favorite. There are few really god cafe/restaurants in this part of town and we urged family an friends to try it. We loved the relaxed atmosphere the friendly and attentive staff and above all the beautiful cooking (the gumbo is amazing).

Last weekend we took advantage of the sunshine popped in for a spot of lunch. The cafe was not busy and we found a table outside. I went to the bar and ordered a couple of drinks, the trouble began when the waitress overfilled one of the drinks and it overflowed on the bar, instead of apologise or clean the glass she said nothing. My wife and I both ordered the burger and waited almost 25min. Maybe not the longest of waits but with an empty cafe this was a bit mysterious. When our food arrived we were not offered condiments and no one returned to ensure everything was satisfactory with our meals... it was not. Whilst the burgers were very good and cooked perfectly there were other problems. The accompanying potato wedges were so greasy they were inedible and the coleslaw was spoilt by an overriding flavour of ginger. I have never had ginger in coleslaw before and its not a addition I would like to experience again. The service was non-existent despite there being many staff milling around the bar area and socialising amongst themselves.

I write in the hope that someone at St Louis reads this review and pays closer attention to their customer's experience, and so that other potential customers beware.

It will be a long time before we patronise this cafe again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stlouiscafebar734, Owner at St Louis Cafe Bar, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are extremely sorry that you had a poor experience at our cafe. We take very serious our customer service and food and we are very disappointed that your visit was unsatisfactory. We have already set in place staff training sessions to address the issues stated and hope that you will come back to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely wee cafe come bistro.
Nice atmosphere, great service (good looking too!)

Possibly the best breakfast I've had in Scotland.
Great use of ingredients especially #stornowayblackpudding

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've been here a number of times for food and drink and it's great. Love the brunch, and last time I was here I had the smokin' burger which was ace. Good portions too to soak up all the lovely drink! Friendly service and great music on in the evenings too, definitely recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Louis Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to St Louis Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Louis Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.