We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip

The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip
8-12 Ashton Lane, Glasgow G12 8SJ, Scotland
0141 334 5007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $2 - $39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Floating on the mezzanine overlooking the main restaurant at The Ubiquitous Chip, The Brasserie offers inventive and wholesome bistro-style dining with the same integrity and commitment to good quality food as the main dining area. Set over the top level of The Chip and offering everything from all day brunch at the weekend, quick midweek lunches and leisurely evening dinners, The Brasserie menu is as diverse as it's surroundings. Like the original restaurant opened back in the 1970s, The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip is on a mission to keep Scottish food and Scottish producers firmly on the culinary map. Using nasturtiums and tomatoes grown on our own mezzanine, Inverurie beef, Seil Island crab, Loch Melfort mussels and Ramsay's of Carluke's pork belly - we offer you the best of what Scotland has to offer in a magical space.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful reunion meal with friends in such a fantastic place. Everyone enjoyed the whole meal even though there were 7 of us, which is quite an achievement. The waiting staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I will certainly go back again and would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    60
    36
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loddon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing food in great surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

'The Chip' has been a Glasgow institution, especially for those who have studied at Glasgow University, for as long as I can remember. Dining downstairs is more expensive than in the less formal upstairs brasserie. Sitting upstairs, with a view over the downstairs diners is my preference. They have really done a great job of creating a lovely light, airy and attractive space. But I was very disappointed with my Haggis, Neeps and Tatties. If my parsimonious helping was really the £9.45 'large' version on the menu, you'd need a microscope for the smaller one! It wasn't very hot, it lacked flavour and was very disappointing indeed. My companions opted for the ploughman's, for which the staff was very happy to replace the oatcakes for bread and omit the balsamic onion.
It was as quiet as I have seen rhe chip, but I didn't feel the staff were especially attentive to our needs.

All in all, disappointing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“first time back for a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

when we told friends on a visit from england that we were going to the chippy on there first night in scotland we had a strange look from them. when we took them into ashton lane the look changed and when they went through the door it had completley changed it certainly is different.we were upstairs they could not believe you can get so many different places in that area. one of the party has to have a gluten free diet and the staff could not have been any better finding out if her choice was ok. i ordered the lambs liver and was asked how wanted it cooked it came just the way i asked for it. the rest of the party really enjoyed their choices of food and wine, being a beer man its nice to go to restaurant and get a pint of scottish beer without having to order some draught foreign beer. thank you for showing friends that good will match anything in the london area and not have the prices. ps can i change that to beat the london area. thanks again to the staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Dined on a Saturday evening at the brasserie and it was lovely. Service was friendly and quick. Had the Aberdeen Angus rump steak with stovies, potatoes, mushrooms and pepper sauce. Steak was really tender and tasty. We had a really nice riocha with it. Dessert was to die for - chocolate tart with strawberry sorbet.
An all round great evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, appalling service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault the food apart from the large hair in my starter! To be fair was replaced immediately however the service which followed was absolutely appalling. Had to ask more than once for more cutlery and more wine! We really did feel like an afterthough. Was an anniversary dinner so a special occasion and would have expected far better from this place as have been before. Service let us down and would have at least expected a discount because of the hair!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip also viewed

 

Been to The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.