We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip

The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip
8-12 Ashton Lane, Glasgow G12 8SJ, Scotland
0141 334 5007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $2 - $39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Floating on the mezzanine overlooking the main restaurant at The Ubiquitous Chip, The Brasserie offers inventive and wholesome bistro-style dining with the same integrity and commitment to good quality food as the main dining area. Set over the top level of The Chip and offering everything from all day brunch at the weekend, quick midweek lunches and leisurely evening dinners, The Brasserie menu is as diverse as it's surroundings. Like the original restaurant opened back in the 1970s, The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip is on a mission to keep Scottish food and Scottish producers firmly on the culinary map. Using nasturtiums and tomatoes grown on our own mezzanine, Inverurie beef, Seil Island crab, Loch Melfort mussels and Ramsay's of Carluke's pork belly - we offer you the best of what Scotland has to offer in a magical space.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Here again on Friday, as good as it always is. Love the food, love the staff and especially love the setting on the balcony.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“enjoyable place to spend a saturday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Myself plus 4 friends whiled away a few hours here on Saturday afternoon through to evening. The food was enjoyed by all, but the menu really does need more vegetarian choices. Staff were lovely, but very busy. Love the tables and chairs outside on the lane, and the twinkly lights on the rooftop terrace. Will definetely be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sssssh! Keep this one to yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I'm putting the house up for sale and moving to Glasgow. Oh all right I'm not, but if I did it would be for the Ubiqitous chip and its sisters. The food was fantastic, service lovely and the atmosphere! We were there on a first Saturday so there was live jazz. We were lucky to get a table, but was it ever worth it.

I can't recommend this place enough. I say go for the bistro over the restaurant, but either is fine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The venison, pear and lanarkshire blue cheese salad was amazing.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked a table for 5 in the Brasserie on a Monday night. When we arrived, we stopped at the desk to get allocated our table. The female member of staff at the desk was in conversation with someone else. As soon as she finished the conversation she simply ignored us & walked away to speak to someone at a table. We were a bit non - plussed at this, but stood for a while till eventually a waiter came over & asked if we were being attended to. We told him we had a reservation for the Brasserie & were directed upstairs Same story!! Stood at the desk while the person ahead was attended to then ignored. I was beginning to woder if we 5 were invisible. I eventually managed to get the guy's attention & were given a table. A bit of a crush - a table for 4 with 5 seats. The place was almost empty - I'm sure they could have offered something roomier, but by this time I didn't want to embarrass our guests by complaining.

The service was probably the slowest I've experienced in years - very few tables occupied, yet it took from 7.15 till 11.00pm to complete 3 courses.

The food, however was good (at least for the 4 carnivores). My Wife, who's vegetarian, was not that impressed. I guess they don't really cater to vegetarians that much, or they just don't think it's that important to produce tasty vegetarian food!

Overall the food was good (from a limited menu), the service, whilst friendly, was incredibly slow, & they really ought to get the 'meet & greet' thing sorted out.

I doubt I'll go back. It just might have been a bad night, but there are too many excellent restaurants out there to bother with second chances!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip also viewed

 

Been to The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brasserie at the Ubiquitous Chip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.