We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opium

Opium
191 Hope Street, Glasgow G2 2UL, Scotland
+44 141 332 6668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Vegetarian, Asian fusion, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opium specialises in oriental fusion cuisine, offering a mix of traditional Dim Sum and fusion dishes. We're open everyday and look forward to welcoming you here at 191 Hope Street. Located in the heart of Glasgow city centre, Opium is great for a working lunch or to catch up with friends. As night falls our interior transforms, it's perfect for an intimate dinner or a celebration with family and friends.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The food was excellent along with the service. This is not your typical chinease restaurant so if your looking for sweet and sour chicken don't bother.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    127
    41
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“all food tasted the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Was looking forward to going but left dissapointed all food was average and just tasted the same. Did not live up to the hype and was expensive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, great menu - good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Went there based off the reviews and the food really is as good as everyone says. The salt and pepper squid and scallop prawn with asparagus and sugar snap in x0 sauce was really tasty. Service attentive without being annoying.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, authentic oriental food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This was our second visit to Opium, and we were not disappointed. The staff are efficient, very friendly and welcoming. Great atmosphere and decor. The food is out of this world, the most difficult thing is deciding what to choose from the fantastic menu. A more authentic slant on the traditional 'British Chinese' restaurant, with dim sum to die for! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food But Left With A Sour Taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Went to opium after seeing good reviews on tripadvisor. And as far as the food was concerned they where well justified. We had dim sum for starters and they where well presented and cooked. I had red snapper for main and although it was a nice piece of fish the sauce was just the same as on my starter which was disappointing.

With the dinner we had a bottle of red wine which was good value but then ordered 2 cocktails for after which were quite expensive and not that nice.

Would have scored this review a four if it wasnt for the compulsary service charge for paying by card. The meal came to around £50 and we where going to leave a £10 tip. However, the card reader said service charge 5, 10 or 15%. I asked if there was a neither button because we were going to tip cash but the waitress just shrugged.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.