We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Source

Cafe Source
1 St Andrews Square, Glasgow, Scotland
0141 548 6020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Source is located beneath the magnificently restored 18th Century St. Andrew’s Church in the Merchant City, Cafe Source offers a relaxed and informal dining experience for those wanting to sample some gutsy “real” Scottish fare. Traditional favourites such as Haggis, Stovies and the ever popular Cullen Skink figure on the menu, however you will also find a wide range of contemporary dishes. Pre-Theatre and Dinner Menus are also available offering excellent value for money. Specials change on a daily basis and with an extensive choice of Malt Whisky, fine wines, Scottish beers and lagers you will surely find Café Source a truly relaxing place to enjoy a taste of Scotland. 10 Mins from Central Station. 2 Mins from Glasgow Cross/Glasgow Green.
A TripAdvisor Member
“A+*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Love it!! Amazing food. 5pm deal was so good value. Defo be back again. Tasty and fresh and lovely friendly staff there A+

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    90
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A well hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were introduced to this restaurant by friends who live in Glasgow and this really is a hidden gem. Located under St Andrews Church it's a surprise when you enter to find a modern, well appointed restaurant. The menu is quite extensive and all the dishes chosesn were good and had a Scottish twist to them. There was plenty of space and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were in Glasgow during the Commonwealth Games yet this was fairly quiet - good for us but a shame that the rest of the visiting population did not get to try this great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had lunch here while doing the open top bus tour. We sat inside initially but while it's quite a nice place, it's also quite oppressively dark, particularly on a sunny day, so we moved outside. We each had a club sandwich which came with unexpected fries and was delicious. My only gripe is that the toilets had clearly not been attended to since the night before. I put this out of my mind while I had lunch but I'm always amazed when restaurants are sloppy about their toilets. Don't they realise that the standard of the toilets is reflective of the general attitude towards hygiene? I feel I have to give it a very good review because of the food as we really enjoyed it but there's definitely a housekeeping problem here!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The food here was really good and the service was excellent even although it was very busy during the Commonwealth Games. The menu had good choices and the staff were very friendly.It was my friends birthday and when we arrived a bottle of Champagne appeared on the table which we had not ordered and as we found out was actually for another table but the owner told us that it was their mistake and it was ours free of charge . You cant get better service than that! Have recommended to friends as lovely atmosphere and would be good in nice weather with good sheltered sitting out area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comberton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick bite to eat on a wet Saturday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We came across Cafe Source while on the open top bus tour...on a wet Saturday. Good quality food and very reasonable prices.... nicely presented in a clean environment... There was a good choice of lunch items and specials... and the wine list was also good. I would recommend this cafe as a great place to eat in the centre of Glasgow...all this without breaking the bank balance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Source also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Source, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.