We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“**Avoid**” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Glasgow

Save Saved
You added Swallow Glasgow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swallow Glasgow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Paisley Road West, Glasgow G51 1RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Moray, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“**Avoid**”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

The area the hotel is in is bad!! The hotel room was disgusting - dirty sheets, dead moths, mould on the bath and stains on carpets and chairs!!
The pool etc is in a completly different building!!
We checked straight back out and are still trying to get a refund!!
Awful hotel!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertCrews, Hotel manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, July 1, 2008
Dear Guest ,

I was most concerned to read your comments regarding your dissapointing experience here at the Glasgow Swallow Hotel.
At the outset please accept my apologies and please be assured that measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.
We are currently working through a product improvement plan which includes our bedrooms, however there can be no excuse if our usual high standards were not provided.
I will certainly help organise your refund if I could ask you contact me to arrange.
Yours Sincerely
Robert Crews
General Manager
0141 427 3146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    105
    78
    80
See reviews for
58
151
21
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
deeside scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We stayed 1 night B & B at this hotel in early May 2008 for £40.00 for 2 plus 6% discount via quidco - £37.60 in total !! The Hotel is in need of refurbishment however it is extremely clean and the staff are excellent. We were attending a concert at SECC - only a short walk from this hotel. Will definately use again . Ideal for a 1 night stop.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — the look of the exterior
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertCrews, Hotel manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, June 27, 2008
Thankyou for your comments, I am glad you found the staff were excellent and the Hotel clean. We are currently working our way through a product improvement plan which will enhance the value we offer.
Again thankyou and hope to welcome you back to the Glasgow swallow Hotel.
Regards

Robert Crews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Arrived at the hotel just infront of a bus full of tourists who just barge infront of you as though they were the queen, so frustrating and so rude! So after waiting ages to check in as there was loads of them demanding service and us poor normal people having to wait!!!! Anyway enough of the moan, the room i got was lovely, big and clean. Finding the room was a little confusing but I did in the end. Reception staff pre warned me when the tour were eating in restraunt and what time having breakfast so I could avoid that time - lol!
Would stay again as room was only £35.00 with breakfast so can no fault at all at that price and as I said rooms clean, spacious and bed was comfy. Just beware of rude toursits.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

Arrived on a Sunday and was greeted at reception by a helpful, cheerful guy and given my key. Was asked if I wished to have a table reserved for dinner that evening and accepted.

The room, a double, was OK and similar to many rooms of chain hotels; a large bed, wardrobe, plenty of drawers and TV. View unfortunately, was of windows of the opposite rooms and looked down onto a flat roof, but as I wasn't spending too much time in the room during my time in Glasgow this was not an issue! En-suite large and spacious and although needed a bit of paint around the edges was more than reasonable. There was room service available and also a pizza service.

Went to the dining room for dinner and had to wait outside for 5 minutes with another two guests as the staff of the restaurant appeared to be busy and understaffed. Dinner itself was limited choice (especially for a vegetarian) and the food was OK but not amazing. Service throughout was pleasant however, and it felt that although the staff were trying there was perhaps just not enough of them overall to cope.

The location of the hotel for me was the highlight; I had work in the local area and the surrounding transport links were ideal to get me to my destination and easily back to the hotel in the morning and evening. Outside the hotel, it did appear to be a less than affluent area (as noted by other reviews) however at no time did it feel unsafe or did I have concern for my vehicle.

Car parking at the hotel was extensive with plenty of spaces conveniently near to the entrance each time I parked.

There is an attached leisure club whos usage largely seems to be incorporated into the hotel charges, although I did not use the facilities so unable to comment further.

I left the hotel the night before the morning I was due to check-out due to personal, non-hotel-related reasons and the receptionist did notice this early check-out and expressed concern, asking if everything was OK with my room.

Overall, I would stay at the hotel again if booked and although it does seem to get negative reviews on TA, its similar to many chain hotels around the country - budget accomodation. The Swallow Glasgow needs some cash channeled into it, to get the rooms and general decor refreshed and some more staff employed.

  • Liked — Local transport links
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Great staff at the Swallow Glasgow , very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Great stay again , room was good and managed to use the sauna and steam room this time which was excellent.
Some areas are good and bits need some TLC.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

it is all bad
staf
food
drink prices
decor
facilities

avoid at all costs

  • Liked — nothing it is all bad
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

I am a female business traveller and I ended up in this horrendous hotel only because other hotels around the £100 mark were booked up.
The Swallow is in a dreadful area, outside the city centre with derelict council flats opposite and I didn't feel safe. It is tired looking both internally and externally and dirty. I didn't even want to walk around barefoot in my room it was so skanky.
The gym, if that's what you can call it, is like something out of the dark ages and hasn't had a good clean in years. The food was quite possibly the worst hotel food I've ever had the misfortune of tasting.
On top of all this, the staff, apart from the waiter at breakfast, were all rude and unhelpful.
If you have any sense you won't stay here.

  • Liked — Nothing. It's the worst hotel in Britain
  • Disliked — It's dirty
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swallow Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Glasgow

Address: 517 Paisley Road West, Glasgow G51 1RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Glasgow 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel located 3 km from city center & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swallow Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Swallow Hotel
Swallow Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.