We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of date & rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Swallow Glasgow to your Saves list
Swallow Glasgow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   517 Paisley Road West, Glasgow G51 1RW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
inverness
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“out of date & rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed here with my husband and 4 year old daughter in autum, when arrived the room was so absolutley freezing we had to pull out the set of drawers (whichwere heavy)to shut our curtains while doing so we found a old black pair of smelly socks. hotel needs serious updating!
our breakfast was lovely although waiting a good 10 mins before getting fresh toast waiting staff were exellant, we found the (male) receptionist abit rude
we shall NOTreturn

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Sorry to hear your comments. I have traced back to August and we do not have a note of you mentioning this to us at the time. Please , wherever you stay, provide the hotel with any issues at the time so as they can address any issues when you are still with them. The team work very hard to make your stay possible and will always relish an opportunity to resolve an issue and fix any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    96
    113
    83
    82
See reviews for
61
163
23
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Glasgow often to watch the football and when I do I stay at the swallow hotel. There is everything in the area you could want for a top footy weekend. The hotel is a few mins walk from ibrox. It's a few mins walk from all the pubs/bars etc etc. the hotel is cheap, the staff are friendly and the rooms etc are fine unless you expect the ritz. It offers what it says on the tin. I will always stay there when I can

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks. Good value and service is always our aim. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

No knowledge of us at check in tho booked & paid in Sept 12. Easybreaks fault.they keep rooms for such events, WE THEY CAN KEEP THEM. Tired,decor out of date, and rather dirty, after being offered one much worse. Shower NOT a trickle, clumps of dirt & dust showing on radiator & carpets.. Festive New Year Break, with poor poor menu & Elbow to Elbow Dining?on lines of tables, lumped together with 185 others, no drinks service & told we don't stand of ceremony here we all MUCK IN.right!,,,queueing for all meals, steak pie, roast cod or goats cheese tart, great choice, drinks pricy no room to move, and loud, politically incorrect Scottish singer/comedian, no use to English visitors.Breakfast a queueing shambles, and untidy, messy food area, lack of table service for tea & coffee, and we checked out & drove back home as soon as we could, cutting our losses on a dreadful experience. The outside areas in daylight, were dirty & full of pot holes etc. take old banger I suggest. We contacted Easybreaks & informed them it was so bad we could NOT STAY ANY LONGER, WE DID GIVE IT A TRY, BUT NO THANKS AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Two Very Disappointed Scottish People

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Sorry you did not book the type of event you wanted. I can assure you that the event was a real sucess and enjoyed by many. I'm sorry you weren't one of them. New year dining is always a function style event at Swallow Glasgow and proves very popular, enabling guests to meet others that would not be as easy on tables of two.
All the best for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

just back from a 2night shopping break and could not fault the service we recieved,the food was excellent,the room was large clean and very comfortable.yes parts of the building could do with a bit tlc but the lounge,resturant was ok.for the price that we paid for 2ngts dbb,the break was so enjoyable that i would recommend it .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for the review. Glad you had a good time. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself have just returned from a 3 day new years break at the Swallow hotel. Yes the hotel us tired and is in need of a refurb, but the staff and the food more then makes up for it. When we arrived, the check in process was very quick and efficient. We had a problem with one of the windows in the room, told the reception staff and it was fixed straight away. For the amount of people staying in the hotel, the meals were served very quickly and still hot. I could go on about how good this hotel was but you'll have to see for yourself. A personal note to the manager and staff at the Swallow hotel.. you guys were great and Id like to thank you for a wonderful 3 days. Dont let the bad reviews put you off.. I almost cancelled my booking because of them. Make your own minds up :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable New Year break at this hotel. Bedrooms were comfortable and clean with everything you would need including a full size iron and ironing board.The food was excellent. Staff were very pleasant and hard working. Entertainment from a group called Omni was first class. Yes the building itself has seen better days but all in all I could not fault it for service, standards and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm glad you had a great time and I shall pass on your comments to the team.
Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 24th - 27th December 2012. The building is tired and in need of upgrading but the level of service provided by the staff, the most enjoyable entertainment and the quality of the food more than made up for it. For the very competitive price paid I certainly didn't expect room service on Christmas day.

I wish them every success with the coming New Year 'do'.

Room Tip: If your room doesn't suit request a change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mearns P, General Manager at Swallow Glasgow, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Jean,
Thanks and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back next yr.
A gid' New Year Tae Yin n' A'
Beat Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swallow Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Glasgow

Address: 517 Paisley Road West, Glasgow G51 1RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Glasgow 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel located 3 km from city center & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Swallow Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Swallow Hotel
Swallow Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.