We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Albion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our room was charming but there was no lift so it was a bit of an adventure taking suitcases and golf clubs up the twisty staircase. And although we knew we couldn't check in early we were hoping to drop off our bags early when our flight arrived, but the front door is locked from 10p to 7:30a. Once they opened, they were very nice and accommadating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
46
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I chose this place based on reviews on TripAdvisor and was disappointed. Perhaps the worst thing about the place for me was the bed. Or shall I say beds. I was put in a one bed room but complained that the bed was very uncomfortable and was moved to a room with three beds. I appreciated how graciously my complaint was handled (which was one of the best parts of the stay) but it turned out that none of the beds in my new room were much better than the original one had been. My Goldilocks routine ended me up in the bed that would do the least damage to my back. Unfortunately that was also the bed with the smell. Pee, I think.
The bathroom was very clean and modern, but the carpets were stained and the remote control for the TV looked like it had been used as a placemat. There was mystery guck around all the buttons. There was a fridge in the room which I was very pleased about because, after weeks of full Scottish breakfasts I had opted for something less artery-cloggin and relished a smoothie and yoghurt in the morning. But the fridge wasn't cold! It was cool at best.
This is a hotel that could, with a little love, be a wonderful place to stay. The location is excellent. Glasgow's West End is quiet and artsy and a comfortable place to be. But a little love is required, and new carpet and wall paper and decent mattresses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, General Manager at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are sorry that you found your stay at the Albion Hotel to be less than comfortable. Over the years we have had many compliments about the comfort of our beds. Unfortunately this is one of the areas where a guest's personal preference has a bearing, one guest would find the bed too soft/hard etc and the next one would be very comfortable in it, on this occasion the mattress did not suit your personal preference, we are pleased the staff responded so well to your complaint and in the event you were given a choice of beds to try and find one which suited. With regard to the fridge being only cool instead of cold, they are actually small coolers, they are not intended to be as cold as a normal fridge, but to keep things cool in the guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We like these kind of small & quaint hotels that excel in customer service. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the room. It was a bit small, but I booked it online with hotels.com and actually reserved the room for one person by mistake. They were booked full but we didn't even ask for a bigger room. Maybe it would have been a larger room if they knew it was for 2. Breakfast was very good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was a computer you could use in the lobby and free Wifi in the rooms. it was a 2 minute walk to the subway station to get to downtown Glasgow.

Room Tip: Quaint rooms for few night stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location - 15 minute walk from Glasgow Uni. and Byers road, ample parking on the street nearby (ticket required)
The bathroom, towels and beddings were all very clean,
Laura at the reception was exquisitely nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Albion in Glasgow for 1 night between September 2 and September 3. No problem to find the hotel as it is on the corner of the street. We also parked the car in the street as it is free between 8am and 8pm. We were warmly welcomed by a lady at the reception even though we were earlier than the specified check-in. She proceeded to our check-in and brought us to our room and asked if it was okay for us. The room was a bit small but it was okay. We had room on the first floor with a window on the backyard. It was really quiet during the night. Our only "problem" was the bed. It was probably an old mastress and we could feel ALL the springs in it... We didn't like Glasgow much so we won't go back there but being in another city we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a first time stay at the Albion. We stayed in room 17 next to reception. Room was clean, a bit small but good for a stay over of up to a few days. There,s a small fridge. Shower was tremendous and powerful. The only disturbance was when morning staff came in and rang bell very briefly. This was not a major issue. The receptionist was very friendly and welcomed us then took us to room. We have previously stayed at sister hotel Ambassadeur. This is as good. First impressions very good and we will stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a great stay at the Albion Hotel with a very warm welcome and good service the whole time. The parking situation is good with a special parking ticket for 4 pounds per day. The location is very good - quiet and close to the tube and the busses to the city. The next time we will book again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: 405 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish 3 star hotel located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.