We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cocktails ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boudoir Wine Bar

Boudoir Wine Bar
Candleriggs, Glasgow G1 1LE , Scotland
0141 552 4774
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: French, Italian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best cocktails ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Two friends and I came across this gem after a pre theatre meal in nearby Citation. What a lovely surprise. We got a comfy booth and were treated to the best cocktails ever. I've had Brandy Alexander before but never with chocolate on the top and it really made it special. The French Kisses were also yummy as was the Pimms. The staff were happy to take orders for cocktails not on the menu so if you 're looking for something different you may well find it here. The final highlight was a live band playing, amongst other tunes, an old classic Santana number Oye Como Va which brought back memories. Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoudoirGlasgow, Owner at Boudoir Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are very pleased that you liked our music and cocktails. Look out for our new list coming out soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Our favourite place for a light lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lovely little place. Great wines, service and snacks. Highly recommend. Nice chilled music, lovely view of the Merchant City.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoudoirGlasgow, Owner at Boudoir Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are particularly pleased that you enjoy our music as much as we do! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classy Merchant City wine bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Popped in with my other half on a Friday evening and shared a bottle of Redhill pinotage and a beautifully chosen cheese plate. The taleggio sitting very nicely with the one. Waitress service was prompt and helpful without being too in-your-face. The bar situated on a corner of Candleriggs with a view out along Merchant City streets. Clientele a cosmopolitan mix, young and old. The wine itself, one of the best we've had outside of home ordering. Worked out about £35 for cheese and wine and worth every penny. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoudoirGlasgow, Owner at Boudoir Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Boudoir, we appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roussillon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just stopped of for a quick glass of wine here....it was a real find. They were very busy mid-afternoon and the one staff member was overrun, but trying their very best. The wine list is extensive with a lot of options by the glass, and with some interesting flights of three wines to try. It stops short of being an absolute wine geek's list, but has a lot of solid and affordable things to try. Food looked good and simple tapas style, and the setting is fantastic - beautifully decorated as befits the name.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found this place by accident, and what a lovely surprise it was! We loved the barrels used as tables and the whole style of this wine bar. Employees were friendly, attentive and seemed to have a good product knowledge. With a glass of wine, a bott le fo beer it was simply amazing to sit at the window watching the first snow of the year. Will be back and will reccommend you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boudoir Wine Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Boudoir Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boudoir Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.