We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glasgow Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chatham, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great First Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 11.30 a.m., August 11th, for the first night of our Scottish Dream Tour with CIE International Tours and were pleasantly surprised that we only had a short wait for our room at a very busy time of year. Going by previous reviews, we had requested one on an upper level away from the nearby motorway and were allocated room #1020. What a pleasant surprise! We had a very comfortable king size bed and a super nights sleep. This after a walk down to Central Station and the downtown area, just ten minutes or so away. The only drawback was free wifi only in the lobby area and no public phones available. We had to pay nine pounds 60p for an eleven minute LOCAL call! My husband had read on the hotel literature that local calls were 80p - they were, but by the minute! Conversation with Rory at the front desk the next morning gained us no sympathy whatsoever, so beware of making ANY phone calls from the hotel. I do believe that with charges that high, a public phone should be made available in the lobby. Otherwise, a wonderful hotel, central location, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    512
    181
    58
    38
See reviews for
135
415
47
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Professional friendly staff nice to hear local accents. We were really well looked after. Bed was the comfiest ever. Great facilities, food excellent. Great rates, great location. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It has a nice and elegant Lobby and when we arrived they wellcomed us with a cocktail. The room was pretty and the beds were really comfortable. We stayed one night since we were on our way to Ireland . Had dinner at the hotel since we asked for a map at the front desk and we saw downtown wasn't so close. The restaurant was quite good and the service efficient and friendly, breakfast was a large buffet that could please everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed three nights and were pleased with our choice. The location is helpful - much within walking distance and the tourist loop bus stop (a wonderful resource!) is right out front. The rooms are comfortable, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is good. The weak point was the restaurant service for the evening meal. We encountered glitches, slow service, and confusion at times, and felt that the menu was somewhat limited. If we were not so tired and jet lagged, we would not have eaten there again, but we were whipped, and did, and there were problems of some sort each time. I would return here, but would plan to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent the weekend here with a group of friends, excellent rooms, tv, roomy bathroom, hair dryer,iron, ironing board etc, excellent gym, 10 minute walk to centre of town. Cant find anything to criticise .All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staid for two nights a great place to stay. Wonderful atmosphere and friendly service. The front desk always welcomed u with a smile. Rooms were great and beds so comfortable you never wanted to leave them. Ate at the hotel and it was great. We came a day early and it was worth it.

My only complaint would be no free Wi-Fi I think it should be a free service and not just in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean Everyone is nice and welcoming But needs free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great hotel in a central city location. Private parking for reasonable price, particularly good breakfast and caring staff. Great kingsize beds. You can walk from here to the city center without problem. Plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.