We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a strange location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glasgow Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland (Anderston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi + Late Checkout
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a strange location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

There is a strange sensation of this hotel being dominated by the M8 as it huddles, along with the Hilton, beside the traffic hurtling past and the immediate environs of the hotel are not exactly prepossessing. Having said that, once inside the hotel the experience is very pleasant. The rooms, although not spacious, are well appointed and extremely comfortable. The beds are very large and comfortable with good pillows, the right weight of duvet and good sheets. It would be nice to be offered free WiFi as is now the case in so many hotels, hopefully this will be available soon. Buffet breakfast is standard, not exciting or particularly good, but adequate. This is our second visit to the Glasgow Marriott and we will probably use it again. It is not exactly close to the sights and facilities of Glasgow, although most can be reached on foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    513
    181
    58
    38
See reviews for
135
415
47
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a number of times now. We gave always been pleased with the rooms. We have always had a south facing room. During our last stay we had a great sleep and a filling breakfast. Free wifi in rooms would be appreciated.
We didn't use the pool on this occasion. We did get room service and we were very pleased with the speed at which the order arrived and the quality of the food.
Very handy for walking in to the centre of the city.
We'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with this Marriott. Having stayed at many others around the UK, our expectation of the Glasgow Marriott wasn't as high. However, from the moment we received a very warm Scottish welcome, our stay was excellent. Nice large rooms, a good hearty breakfast and in general a very good experience. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room had two double beds and was of a good size. We had dinner on the first evening in the restaurant and we were delighted with the meal, and the attentive service. Breakfasts were good and catered for all tastes. The lobby and bar area was also very welcoming. The pool was not that big and the pool area was in need of a bit of refurbishment, but it was adequate for a wee swim. There was also a sauna and steam room but didn't use those facilities. Overall this was a very good hotel and value for money weekend stay. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on a higher floor, e.g. 9th, facing the front of the hotel you get a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed two nights in a family room in late July and none of us could fault this hotel in any way. Could not believe how good the hotel was for the price we paid. Five minutes walk to the center of the city and its so many attractions. As for the breakfast included in the price we paid,it was first class as was the staff. During our time at the Marriott there was a English premiership football team staying so the kids loved sitting in the foyer spotting the players going about. Will be staying again any time we are in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, for a great view of a great city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for 3 nights for a short break. Hotel is in an ideal position for shops, with a couple of good restaurants close by. On arrival we were given a warm welcome from a very chatty receptionist. Our room was large with 2 double beds. Nice decor, spotlessly clean. Only down side was the lack of a fridge which we had expected. We did not have breakfast but did have a very tasty bar meal . My husband and I both had fish and chips which was excellent. Bar staff were very friendly . All in all a good experience . Would go back again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed in the Glasgow Marriott for several days in July.

The location: not prime. It's quite a walk or a short drive to get anywhere you would want to go as a tourist. There's a lovely park nearby next to the river, but otherwise you would need to drive or budget walking time. It's also not located in an area where one should be walking alone at night (in daytime it's perfectly fine).

The hotel: exactly what you would expect from a Marriott. Very nice, very clean. Only small complaint was that our AC wasn't fully functional, and we were provided a fan--they were hosting a convention at the time and could not give us a new room. It worked out fine, the fan was sufficient. It was not so hot outside, and air conditioning seems to be rather hard to come by in Europe so research if it is expected to be hot before you go, and then see if your hotel provides AC, don't assume it does.

The service: We were really impressed with the staff there, they were lovely, helpful and friendly. The 3 women working the front desk were especially wonderful.

The one thing you may want to keep in mind is that wifi isn't free, except in the lobby.

Generally a good experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Marriott Hotel

Address: 500 Argyle Street | Anderston, Glasgow G3 8RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a bustling, cosmopolitan city with a renowned business centre and prestigious shopping, the Glasgow Marriott Hotel puts you in the heart of it all. Our luxury hotel is a five-minute stroll to nightlife, the SECC and one of the best shopping areas outside London. Perfect for business or leisure, the Marriott offers air-conditioned rooms, wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and 12 conference rooms, which can accommodate up to 550 guests for a dinner reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Glasgow Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Glasgow
Glasgow Marriott Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.